Date
Saturday, June 15, 2019 to Sunday, June 16, 2019
Location
Powerhouse, Moscow

The showcase will be held on June 15 at Powerhouse Moscow. It will feature live performances and DJ sets by both British and Russian musicians. The founder of Worldwide FM station, famous broadcaster and DJ Gilles Peterson, has invited some of the most exciting new UK talent to join him at the event, together with some of the most interesting Russian artists on the scene currently. The event will culminate with Gilles Peterson playing an hour-long DJ set. 

Get Early Bird tickets

The next day at 4 pm, Gilles will give an open interview at the Sila Vinyla market at the Powerhouse club. As founder of Worldwide FM radio, Brownswood Recordings label and an avid record collector, he will speak about his creative endeavours whilst selecting songs from his favourite records. 

Worldwide FM

Established in 2016, the award-winning online radio station Worldwide FM investigates and promotes exciting underground music from around the world. The motto of Worldwide FM, which focuses on young musicians, is ‘to explore and tie together the shape-shifting diversity of global music’. As part of the Moscow showcase, Worldwide FM will air a series of shows dedicated to Russian musicians, which will be recorded together with the Moscow-based online radio station New New World. 

Gilles Peterson 

54-year old Gilles Peterson is best known as a radio presenter, a journalist, a DJ, a festival curator, a record label boss — in short, one of the most famous tastemakers in the world. Gilles can be compared to legendary presenter John Peel in shaping the musical tastes of several British generations. In his popular three-hour show on BBC Radio 6, he builds bridges between jazz, soul, funk, house, drum&bass and hip-hop, and gives a significant platform to young artists. The label Brownswood Recordings, launched by Gilles Peterson in 2006, became a symbol of quality to anyone who values ardent groove and performance mastery. Last year, Brownswood’s compilation of young British Jazz, We Out Here, became one of the most prominent albums of 2018.  

UK artists at the Worldwide FM showcase in Moscow 

Skinny Pelembe

Songs by singer and guitarist Skinny Pelembe are a perfect example of cosmopolitan music that Gilles Peterson promotes with his Worldwide FM Radio station. Skinny Pelembe was born in Johannesburg, and grew up in Doncaster. His music features the African groove and echoes  British psychedelia, while the lyrics explores painful topics — xenophobia and racism, which the author experienced personally. 

Emma-Jean Thackray

A graduate of the Red Bull Music Academy Emma-Jean Thackray is lauded as one of the brightest young jazz artists in the UK. Emma-Jean Thackray sings and composes music, plays the piano, trumpet and flugelhorn, is the bandleader in her own jazz ensemble and collaborates as a composer with the London Symphony Orchestra. She is also a DJ and hosts a show on Worldwide FM. 

Elsa Hewitt

Elsa Hewitt has not yet turned 30, but her portfolio contains about a dozen albums. Hailing from East Sussex, Elsa began writing songs when she was thirteen, before moving to Leeds where she found a like-minded musical community. Now based in London, Elsa independently composes and writes ‘outsider pop’: songs with catchy melodies and dance electronic beats, but with an obligatory break inside and without intention to conquer the charts.  

Global Roots

The presenter, promoter and DJ Thris Tian has been hosting parties for many years in East London, championing artists from across genres and backgrounds. He was one of the founder members of Boiler Room, which has grown into an international brand. In recent years, Thris Tian has collaborated with Gilles Peterson and Worldwide FM on his new brainchild, Global Roots. Starting as a party at the famous Plastic People club in London, Global Roots has become a multi-platform project that includes radio shows, pop-up shows, film screenings and much more. 

Tash LC

London based artist Tash LC has quickly established herself as an assured DJ and presenter. A host of Worldwide FM, she is known for her powerful radio shows and fiery DJ sets featuring the widest range of music with African influences, from expert jazz to kuduro and gqom rhythms. 

The final schedule of performances of all artists will be announced shorty.

Date
суббота 15 июня 2019воскресенье 16 июня 2019
Location
Powerhouse, Москва

В рамках Года музыки Великобритании и России 2019 серия вечеринок Selector Live представила первый московский шоукейс онлайн-радиостанции Worldwide FM, основанной знаменитым британским ведущим и диджеем Джайлсом Питерсоном.

Шоукейс прошел15 июня и состоял из двух блоков: дневной и ночной программы, которые прошли в клубе Powerhouse и включили выступления и диджей-сеты британских и российских музыкантов. Специально для мероприятия Джайлс отобрал среди британских участников наиболее интересные новые имена музыкальной сцены Великобритании. В кульминации шоукейса за виниловые вертушки встал лично Джайлc Питерсон и отыграл часовой сет. 

На следующий день создатель не только радио Worldwide FM, но и лейбла Brownswood Recordings и увлеченный коллекционер пластинок дал открытое интервью на маркете “Сила Винила” в клубе Powerhouse, во время которого он рассказал о своей творческой биографии и проиллюстрировал этот рассказ избранными композициями с любимых пластинок. 

Worldwide FM

Онлайн-радиостанция Worldwide FM была запущена в 2016 году. На ее виртуальных волнах можно услышать захватывающую андеграундную музыку со всего света. Девиз Worldwide FM, уделяющей особенное внимание молодым музыкантам: “исследовать многообразие мировой музыки и связывать ее в единое целое”. В рамках московского шоукейса Worldwide FM выпустит в эфир серию программ, посвященных российским музыкантам, которая будет подготовлена совместно с московской онлайн-радиостанцией New New World.

Джайлс Питерсон

54-летний Джайлс Питерсон -  радиоведущий, журналист, диджей, создатель лейблов и куратор фестивалей, а, коротко говоря, один из самых знаменитых тейстмейкеров в мире. Он сопоставим с легендарным радиоведущим BBC Джоном Пилом, который сформировал музыкальные вкусы нескольких поколений британцев. Популярная трехчасовая программа Джайлса Питерсона на BBC Radio 6, в которой диджей сводит мосты между джазом, соулом, фанком, хаусом, драм-н-бейсом и хип-хопом, дает мощный карьерный старт молодым артистам. Лейбл Brownswood Recordings, запущенный Джайлсом Питерсоном в 2006-м, стал неоспоримым символом качества для всех, кто ценит в музыке живой пламенный грув и исполнительское мастерство. Вышедшая в прошлом году на Brownswood, компиляция молодых британских джазменов “We Out Here” стала одним из самых заметных альбомов 2018 года, попав в итоговые рейтинги многих авторитетных музыкальных медиа.

Британские артисты на шоукейсе Worldwide FM в Москве

Skinny Pelembe

Песни певца и гитариста Skinny Pelembe - идеальный образец музыкального космополитизма, который пропагандирует Джайлс Питерсон и его Worldwide FM. Skinny Pelembe родился в Йоханнесбурге, вырос в Донкастере. В его  музыке отчетливо слышен африканский грув и отголоски британской психоделии, а тексты касаются болезненных тем - ксенофобии и расизма, с которыми автор сталкивался на личном опыте.

Emma-Jean Thackray

Выпускницу Red Bull Music Academy Emma-Jean Thackray справедливо называют одним из самых ярких молодых джазовых артистов Великобритании. Emma-Jean Thackray щедро одарена талантами: она поет и сочиняет музыку, играет на фортепиано, трубе и флюгельгорне, играет роль бендлидера в собственном джазовом ансамбле и сотрудничает как композитор с Лондонским симфоническим оркестром. А еще она диджеит и ведет шоу на радио Worldwide FM.

Elsa Hewitt

Elsa Hewitt еще не исполнилось тридцати, но в ее портфолио уже около десятка альбомов. Уроженка Восточного Сассекса начала играть на гитаре и писать песни в подростковые тринадцать, а затем переехала в Лидс, где нашла единомышленников в музыкальной среде. Сейчас она живет в Лондоне и без чьей либо помощи, полностью самостоятельно, сочиняет и записывает этакий “посторонний поп” - песни с яркими мелодиями и танцевальными электронными битами, но с обязательным изломом внутри и без всякого намерения покорять хит-парады.

Global Roots

Ведущий, промоутер и диджей Thris Tian многие годы проводит вечеринки в Восточном Лондоне, на которых выступают артисты самых разных взглядов на музыку. Один из наиболее известных проектов, к которым он приложил руку - Boiler Room, превратившийся в международный бренд. Последние годы Thris Tian сотрудничает с Джайлсом Питерсоном и радио Worldwide FM, под крылом которого развивается его новое детище - Global Roots. Начавшись как вечеринка в знаменитом лондонском клубе Plastic People, Global Roots превратился в мультиплатформенный проект, который включает в себя радиошоу, поп-ап-выставки, кинопоказы и многое другое.

Tash LC

В кратчайшие сроки жительница Лондона Tash LC проявила себя как харизматичная ведущая и тонко чувствующая публику диджей. Ведущая Worldwide FM известна ярким радиошоу и пламенными диджей-сетами, в которых звучит самый широкий спектр музыки с африканскими влияниями - от искусного джаза до моторных кудуро и гком-ритмов.

Российские артисты на шоукейсе

Дневная программа:

  • Lapti 
  • Riddim Research Lab / Live
  • Lay Far 

Ночная программа:

  • Hipushit 
  • Raumskaya (Hyperboloid) / Live
  • Locked Club (Private Persons)
  • Hespermen (Private Persons) 
  • Karolina BNV 
  • Marauder Disco
  • Algorythmik
  • Nastya Mikhailova 
  • Guy Dee
  • MXXIM
  • Saburov (Hyperboloid)