Date
Monday, June 24, 2019 - 19:30

A lecture by Vidar Norheim — a lecturer in songwriting and percussion at Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts (LIPA)— will take place as a part of the SelectorPRO programme, in partnership with Moscow Music School.

The lecture is aimed at anyone who is interested in developing their songwriting craft. It will give an overview of key songwriting principles and concepts taught in the successful LIPA Songwriting programme. 

Topics covered include: 

  • song forms and structures
  • effective melody writing
  • communicating specific emotions in lyrics
  • melody and lyric relationships  

Case studies and analysis will focus on examples of the most successful songs ever written.  In addition, a question and answer session will allowparticipants to gainfurther knowledge on the art of songwriting.

Free admission with advance registration. The lecture will be in English with Russian translation available.

ABOUT VIDAR NORHEIM

Vidar Norheim is a multi-instrumentalist, songwriter and producer from Norway, now based in Liverpool. He studied BA Music at Liverpool Institute of Performing Arts (LIPA) where he is now a visiting lecturer in songwriting and percussion. Vidar has toured worldwide as a member of Liverpool's alt-pop band Wave Machines, with highlights including Glastonbury, SXSW and BBC Electric Proms.

Vidar is a published songwriter and his music has featured in many TV series and adverts including HBO’s Entourage and Top Gear. In 2011 he was named as Norway's most promising songwriting talent, winning a place at Song:Expo in Trondheim alongside many of the world's leading songwriters and producers. 2016 saw the release of his solo debut EP Blind Carbon Copy which was released on labels in Japan, Norway and the UK. He has also worked extensively with Lizzie Nunnery, releasing one album and an EP together as well as collaborating on theatrical pieces.  

Productions as a composer and MD include Narvik (Best New play UK Theatre Awards 2017), The Sum (Liverpool Everyman May 2017) and Horny Handed Tons of Soil (July 2017). Vidar is currently writing his first film score for the feature film A World After. 

ABOUT LIPA

The Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts (LIPA) is a specialist university-level institution for performers and those who make performance possible. Co-founded by former Beatle, Sir Paul McCartney and Chief Executive and Principal Mark Featherstone-Witty, LIPA is based on the sites of the old Liverpool Institute and Liverpool Art College who count three Beatles among their alumni: Paul McCartney, George Harrison and John Lennon.  

LIPA has an esteemed reputation worldwide with around 25% of students coming from over 40 countries outside of the UK. LIPA offers courses in Music, Songwriting & Performance, Songwriting & Production, Sound Technology, Management: Music, Entertainment, Theatre & Events, Acting, Dance, Applied Theatre & Community Drama, Costume Making, Creative Technologies & Performance, Theatre & Performance Design / Technology.

ABOUT MOSCOW MUSIC SCHOOL

The Moscow Music School is a school of contemporary music. They inspire and educate young new talents to embark upon successful careers in the music industry as producers, solo artists, sound engineers, managers, sound artists and sound designers.

The Moscow Music School, together with the British Higher School of Art and Design, the Moscow Film School, the Scream School and the Moscow Architecture School MARCH form the ‘Universal University’ – a consortium of independent educational institutions that offer high-quality education in the creative fields. 

Their educational programme includes three courses of continuous professional development in the following specialties: Music Production, Songwriting and Music Performance, and Music Business. These courses are two years long, covering a full range of disciplines required for a contemporary music artist and music industry professional. Each course is developed together with the programme leader – a musician or specialist within the music industry.

ABOUT SELECTOR PRO

Selector PRO connects music people from around the world with specialist music experts from the UK who deliver training, share their stories and discuss local and global themes affecting the contemporary music industry. Participants include musicians, managers, producers and journalists at various stages in their careers but all interested in developing their knowledge and networks. 

Over the years, the programme has been designed to respond to the particular industry needs in a range of countries from India to Armenia. It began in Russia in 2016, originally managed by the British Council in Russia; from 2019 the programme will be delivered by the Cultural and Education section of the British Embassy in Moscow. This latest iteration of the programme will create links between UK and Russian industry and entrepreneurship, provide training and support for developing Russian musicians, managers and journalists and share professional expertise and showcase new talent from the UK.

Selector PRO takes its name from the British Council’s Selector Radio show –broadcast weekly in over 35 countries to an audience of 4 million listeners.

Date
понедельник 24 июня 2019 -
19:3021:00

Лекция Видара Норхайма – педагога по написанию песен и перкуссии в LIPA – будет проходить в рамках программы SelectorPRO в партнерстве с Moscow Music School.

Лекция предназначена для всех, кто заинтересован в развитии мастерства написания песен. Лектор представит обзор основных принципов и концепций, преподаваемых на успешной программе написания песен LIPA.

На лекции будут затронуты следующие темы:

  • формы и структуры песен
  • создание мелодии
  • передача эмоций в тексте песни
  • взаимоотношения мелодии и текста  

В качестве примеров на лекции будут рассматриваться самые успешные песни в истории музыки. На сессии вопросов и ответов после лекции слушатели могут попросить практический совет в написании песен.

Вход бесплатный с предварительной регистрацией. Лекция будет проходить на английском языке с синхронным переводом на русский.

О ВИДАРЕ НОРХАЙМЕ

Видар Норхайм – мультиинструменталист, автор песен и продюсер из Норвегии, в настоящее время живет в Ливерпуле. Он получил степень бакалавра музыки в Ливерпульском институте исполнительских искусств (LIPA), где теперь работает приглашенным лектором по написанию песен и перкуссии. Видар гастролировал по всему миру с составе ливерпульский альт-поп группы WaveMachines, выступал на таких мероприятиях, как Гластонберийский фестиваль, SXSWи BBCElectricProms.

Видар – успешный автор песен, и его музыка много раз использовалась в сериалах и рекламе, включая сериал «Красавцы» (HBO) и программу «TopGear». В 2011 году он был назван самым многообещающим талантом Норвегии, завоевав призовое место на Song: Expoв Тронхейме вместе со многими ведущими мировыми композиторами и продюсерами. В 2016 году вышел его сольный дебютный альбом «BlindCarbonCopy», выпущенный лейблами в Японии, Норвегии и Великобритании. Также активно работает в дуэте с Лиззи Наннери, совместно с которой они выпустили два альбома и работают в театре.  

Как композитор и музыкальный руководитель работал над следующими постановками: Narvik (BestNewplayUKTheatreAwards2017), theSum (LiverpoolEverymanMay2017) и HornyHandedTonsofSoil (июль 2017). В настоящее время он пишет свой первый саундтрек для художественного фильма «AWorldAfter». 

О ЛИВЕРПУЛЬСКОМ ИНСТИТУТЕ ИСПОЛНИТЕЛЬСКИХ ИСКУССТВ

Ливерпульский институт исполнительских искусств (LIPA) является специализированным учреждением университетского уровня для исполнителей и других профессионалов в сфере музыки. Основан Полом Маккартни и генеральным директором и ректором Марком Фезерстоуном-Уитти. LIPAрасполагается в здании старого Ливерпульского института и Ливерпульского художественного колледжа, где учились участники Битлз – Пол Маккартни, Джордж Харрисон и Джон Леннон.  

LIPAимеет международную репутацию: около 25% студентов приезжают учиться в Ливерпуль со всех континентов, из более 40 стран. LIPA предлагает курсы по следующим дисциплинам: музыка, написание и исполнение песен, написание и продюсирование песен, звуковые технологии, менеджмент в сфере музыки, менеджмент развлекательных мероприятий, театральный менеджмент, актерское мастерство, танец, прикладной театр и социальный театр, изготовление костюмов, творческие технологии и концертная деятельность, звукорежиссура.

О MOSCOW MUSIC SCHOOL 

Moscow Music School – этошколасовременноймузыки. Она вдохновляет и воспитывает молодые таланты для успешной карьеры в музыкальной индустрии в качестве продюсеров, артистов, звукорежиссеров, руководителей.

MoscowMusicSchool – часть UniversalUniversity, управляющей платформы образовательных проектов в области творческих индустрий. Платформа объединяет Британскую высшую школу дизайна, Московскую школу кино, Школу компьютерных технологий ScreamSchool, Архитектурную школу МАРШ и Московскую школу коммуникаций MACS.

Образовательная программа включает три курса непрерывного профессионального развития по следующим специальностям: музыкальное производство, написание песен и музыкальное исполнение, музыкальный бизнес. Эти курсы рассчитаны на два года и охватывают весь спектр дисциплин, необходимых для современного музыкального исполнителя и профессионала музыкальной индустрии. Каждый курс разрабатывается совместно с руководителем программы – музыкантом или специалистом в музыкальной индустрии.

О SELECTORPRO

SelectorPRO – это программа профессионального развития в сфере музыки с мероприятиями, объединяющими профессионалов из Великобритании и России. Задача проекта – создать связи между индустрией и предпринимательством России и Великобритании, предоставить обучение и поддержку развивающимся российским музыкантам, менеджерам и журналистам, поделиться профессиональными знаниями и познакомить публику с новыми именами британской музыкальной сцены. 

SelectorPRO вырос из лондонской музыкальной радио-программы Selector, представляющей лучшую современную британскую музыку всех жанров. Продюсер программы — Британский совет, ее слушает более трех миллионов человек в 40 странах всего мира. До 2018 года SelectorPROорганизовывал Британский Совет в России, с 2019 года программу организует Отдел культуры и образования Посольства Великобритании в Москве.