Roger Wright in Snape Maltings Concert Hall
Date
Monday, November 18, 2019 - 19:30

During his Moscow lecture, Roger Wright CBE, who has been Chief Executive of Snape Maltings since 2014, will talk about the history of the Aldeburgh Festival and its contemporary projects, explain what makes Snape Maltings a unique global music cluster, and share his vision of its further development.

The lecture will be held in English with translation into Russian.

Admission is free only after registration. Please register here.

About Snape Maltings

The world-famous Aldeburgh Festival of Music and the Arts was founded in 1948 by composer Benjamin Britten and singer Peter Pears with the support of a small group of like-minded people. Located in a remote fishing town in the East of England, the festival quickly gained international recognition and required a more spacious venue. In 1965, Benjamin Britten rented the largest building in the county, a Victorian malt house, and turned it into a concert hall, which opened two years later. Since then, Snape Maltings Concert Hall has been the home of the Aldeburgh Festival. Being one of the first industrial building adapted for cultural purposes, this concert venue is known for its excellent acoustics.

Benjamin Britten and his followers sought to make Snape Maltings not just a concert hall, but a music campus: a place that would embody Britten’s idea of an international concert venue with a creative workshop for young musicians, with educational and social programmes. The incredible natural beauty, high social significance, and performances by world stars and young artists — all this for years distinguished the festival from any other event. Britten passed away in 1976, but his dream of a cultural space embedded in the local community continued to inspire his followers who later refurbished several beer malt buildings nearby. Now it is one of the most fantastic music clusters in the world: a place filled with the energy of the creative process that takes place here every day, all year round.

About the lecturer

Roger Wright CBE has been Chief Executive of Snape Maltings since 2014. Prior to this he was Controller of BBC Radio 3 and Director of BBC Proms for 17 and 7 years respectively. Roger is recognised as one of the UK’s most experienced cultural leaders both nationally and internationally.

Educated at Chetham’s School of Music in Manchester, and then at Royal Holloway College, Roger began his professional life in 1978 at the British Music Information Centre (BMIC), and also working as a freelance writer and broadcaster. He was appointed Senior Producer at the BBC Symphony Orchestra in 1986 before he became Artistic Administrator of The Cleveland Orchestra in 1989. Three years later, Roger moved to Hamburg to take the post of Vice President, Artists and Repertoire, at Deutsche Grammophon.

Roger was awarded a CBE in 2015 for services to music. He has been given honorary degrees by Royal Holloway, the University of East Anglia, the Royal College of Music, the Guildhall School of Music and Drama and the Royal Northern College of Music and is a Fellow of the Radio Academy. Roger was appointed to the Board of the Royal Opera House in September 2017.

Date
понедельник 18 ноября 2019 -
19:3021:00

Во время своей московской лекции кавалер Ордена Британской империи Роджер Райт, возглавляющий Snape Maltings с 2014-го года, подробно расскажет об истории Фестиваля в Олдборо и его современных проектах, о том, что делает Snape Maltings уникальным музыкальным кластером в мировом масштабе, и о своем видении его дальнейшего развития.

Лекция пройдет на английском языке. Во время лекции будет доступен синхронный перевод.

Вход строго по предварительной регистрации.

О Snape Maltings

Всемирно известный Фестиваль музыки и искусств в Олдборо был основан в 1948-м году композитором Бенджамином Бриттеном и оперным певцом Питером Пирсом при поддержке небольшой группы единомышленников. Расположенный в удаленном рыбацком городке на востоке Англии, Фестиваль быстро завоевал международное признание, и ему потребовалась более вместительная площадка. В 1965-м Бенджамин Бриттен арендовал самое большое здание в округе - солодовню, построенную в викторианские времена, чтобы превратить ее в концертный зал, который открылся спустя два года. С тех пор Snape Maltings Concert Hall является домом Фестиваля в Олдборо. Эта концертная площадка - один из первых примеров переоборудования промышленного здания в культурных целях - известна своей превосходной акустикой.

С 1967 и до сегодняшнего дня, Бенджамин Бриттен и его последователи стремились к тому, чтобы Snape Maltings был не просто концертным залом, но представлял собой целый музыкальный кампус: место, которое воплощало бы идею Бриттена о международной концертной площадке, сочетающейся с творческой мастерской для молодых музыкантов, образовательными и социальными программами. Природная локация удивительной красоты и высокая общественная значимость, присутствие мировых звёзд наряду с начинающими артистами, - всё это годами делало Фестиваль не похожим ни на какой другой. Бриттена не стало в 1976, однако его мечта о культурном пространстве международного масштаба, при этом, включённом в жизнь местного сообщества, продолжает вдохновлять его последователей. Целый ряд расположенных поблизости зданий, в прошлом тоже служивших для производства пивного солода, были переоборудованы. Теперь это один из самых поразительных музыкальных кластеров в мире: место, наполненное энергией творческого процесса, происходящего здесь каждый день, круглый год.