Date
Saturday, July 27, 2019 - 18:00

The Rinse FM Showcase is a part of Selector Live series and provides an impressive report on the current state of British dance electronic music, produced by experts who know it inside and out. Founded in 1994 as a pirate station, Rinse FM is one of the most influential UK radio stations that plays dance electronics and defines its modern landscape.

The showcase will star recognized classics of British electronics like the famous DJ and producer Andrew Weatherall, Glasgow-based musician Auntie Flo and grime intellectual Mr. Mitch. You'll also be able to hear the St. Petersburg-based shoegaze band Pinkshinyultrablast and a B2B DJ-set by Rinse FM residents – The Menendez Brothers and FBR.

SELECTOR LIVE

Our Selector Live programme is dedicated to showcasing the most exciting new British music. For several years, Selector Live has introduced contemporary British musicians and DJs to Russian audiences. The performers are chosen by the hosts of the Selector radio show, who broadcast their selections from London to an audience of over three million listeners in 40 countries around the world.

Actress x London Contemporary Orchestra, Matthew Herbert, Ben Khan, King Midas Sound, Dean Blunt and Plaid are just some of the artists who have performed at Selector Live events over the past years.

PRESENT PERFECT FESTIVAL

The fifth edition of the Present Perfect Electronic Music and Contemporary Art Festival will be held in St. Petersburg from 26 to 28 July 2019. The anniversary version of the festival will be held for the second time on the territory of Sevkabel Port, a cultural space that boasts industrial flavour and the best view of the Gulf of Finland from the beautifully furnished embankment.

This year a rich programme of the Present Perfect events will again stretch for three days: a concert opening, an educational programme, a pre-party series, a twenty-hour Saturday event and an after party at the waterfront.

UK AND RUSSIAN ARTISTS AT THE WORLDWIDE FM SHOWCASE IN MOSCOW 

ANDREW WEATHERALL

Andrew Weatherall, pioneer of the British electronic sound, began his DJing career at the legendary Shoom and Spectrum clubs, which inaugurated the acid house boom in the UK. As a DJ and producer he collaborated with British rock heroes Happy Mondays, New Order and Primal Scream and was one of the people responsible for bringing this underground sound to larger audiences in the 1990s . In his own projects, Sabers Of Paradise and Two Lone Swordsmen, Andrew Weatherall was experimenting with sound and various hybrids of idm and downtempo, postpunk, psychedelia and dub. This Century, Andrew is far from slowing down. He still continues to release intriguing albums, remixes and play eclectic sets that merge the rock classics with the latest techno.

AUNTIE FLO

Along with Four Tet and Caribou, Auntie Flo is one of the most prominent contemporary producers, always in pursuit of new electronic dance ideas from different nations’ traditional music. In 2018, the Glasgow-based producer and DJ released a brilliant full-length album Radio Highlife with Gilles Peterson's Brownswood Recordings label. This record is a skilful hybrid of highlife and deep house, recorded with musicians from Havana, Cape Town and Senegal. Many music publications included the album in their lists of the year’s best releases.

MR. MITCH

Londoner Miles Mitchell has earned the reputation of an intellectual in instrumental grime (a subtype of dance music with British origins). Resident of the established label Planet Mu and founder of his own label Gobstopper Records, Mr. Mitch has released numerous intricately arranged minimalist compositions since 2010. His music merges the crazy pressure and power of grime with unexpected sound discoveries and compositional elegance.

PINKSHINYULTRABLAST

The St. Petersburg-based band continues to build on the musical aesthetics originated by Seefeel, a euphoric shoegaze band, which slowly dissolves into majestic electronic noise. Pinkshinyultrablast debuted in 2014 with a full-length album Everything Else Matters, favoured by international critics, which opened up the band to foreign audiences.

SEEFEEL

Seefeel, made up of guitarist Mark Clifford and vocalist Sarah Peacock, began by making dream pop influenced by My Bloody Valentine and Cocteau Twins, but gradually became more and more experimental and abandoned traditional song structures in favour of meditative and repetitive electronic compositions. Their debut album, Quique, released in 1993, was ahead of its time and anticipated the future popularity of idm and post-rock. Its ground-breaking sound influenced many musicians and producers, including Boards Of Canada and Aphex Twin amongst others. In 1995, Seefeel took a sabbatical that lasted almost two decades; their sequel to the Quique album was released in 2011, after which the cult group acquired a new fanbase.

Date
суббота 27 июля 2019 -
18:0023:59

Шоукейс Rinse FM на Present Perfect, который прошел в рамках серии вечеринок Selector Live - это впечатляющий отчет о нынешнем состоянии британской танцевальной электронной музыки, подготовленный экспертами, досконально знающими эту область. Возникшая в 1994-м году как пиратская станция, Rinse FM – одно из наиболее влиятельных радио Великобритании, посвященных танцевальной электронике и определяющих ее современный ландшафт.

На шоукейсе выступят признанные классики британской электроники Seefeel, знаменитый диджей и продюсер Эндрю Уизеролл (Andrew Weatherall); музыкант из Глазго Auntie Flo; интеллектуал от грайма Mr. Mitch. У вас также будет возможность услышать шугейз-группу из Санкт-Петербурга Pinkshinyultrablast, а также бэк-ту-бэк диджей-сет резидентов станции Rinse FM The Menendez Brothers и FBR.

SELECTOR LIVE

Серия вечеринок Selector Live, организованная Британским Советом, посвящена самой интересной новой британской музыке. На протяжении нескольких лет Selector Live знакомит российскую публику с актуальными британскими музыкантами и диджеями, за выбор которых отвечают создатели радиопрограммы Selector, вещающей из Лондона на аудиторию свыше трех миллионов слушателей в 40 странах мира.

Actress & London Contemporary Orchestra, Matthew Herbert, Ben Khan, King Midas Sound, Dean Blunt и Plaid — вот далеко не полный список артистов, выступавших в рамках событий Selector Live.

PRESENT PERFECT FESTIVAL

Пятый фестиваль электронной музыки и современного искусства Present Perfect прошел в Санкт-Петербурге с 26 по 28 июля 2019 года. Юбилейная версия фестиваля во второй раз состоялась на территории «Севкабель Порт» — культурного пространства, объединяющего в себе промышленный колорит и лучший вид на Финский залив с превосходно обустроенной набережной.

В этом году насыщенная программа событий, входящих в Present Perfect, сохранила свой структурный вид и вновь растянулась на три дня: концерт-открытие, образовательная часть, серия pre-party, двадцатичасовой субботний ивент и afterparty у воды.

БРИТАНСКИЕ И РОССИЙСКИЕ МУЗЫКАНТЫ НА ШОУКЕЙСЕ RINSE FM

Эндрю Уизеролл

Эндрю Уизеролл начал диджейскую карьеру в легендарных клубах Shoom и Spectrum, с которых начался бум эйсид-хауса в Великобритании. Диджей и продюсер  стал одним из тех, кто в 1990-х вывел новый танцевальный звук из андеграунда на большую аудиторию, благодаря успешному сотрудничеству с британскими рок-героями Happy Mondays, New Order и Primal Scream. В собственных проектах Sabres Of Paradise и Two Lone Swordsmen Эндрю Уизеролла интересовали эксперименты со звучанием и разнообразные гибриды idm и даунтемпо с постпанком, психоделией и дабом. В новом веке один из пионеров британского электронного саунда не сбавил оборотов и продолжает выпускать интригующие альбомы, делать ремиксы и играть эклектичные сеты, связывающие классику рока и новейшее техно.

Auntie Flo

Наряду с Four Tet и Caribou, Auntie Flo - один из наиболее заметных современных продюсеров, которые ищут новые идеи для танцевальной электроники в традиционной музыке разных народов.  В 2018-м году продюсер и диджей из Глазго выпустил блестящий полнометражный альбом “Radio Highlife” на лейбле Джайлса Питерсона Brownswood Recordings. Эта пластинка - искусный гибрид хайлайфа и дип-хауса, записанный с музыкантами из Гаваны, Кейптауна и Сенегала - вошла в списки лучших релизов года по мнению многих профильных музыкальных медиа.

Mr.Mitch

Лондонец Майлз Митчелл заслужил себе репутацию интеллектуала от инструментального грайма - подвида танцевальной музыки, имеющего  аутентично британское происхождение. Резидент авторитетного лейбла Planet Mu и основатель собственного лейбла Gobstopper Records с начала 2010-х выпускает затейливо устроенные минималистские композиции, в которых бешеный напор и энергетика грайма соединяется с неожиданными звуковыми находками и композиционным изяществом.

Pinkshinyultrablast

Группа из Петербурга продолжает развивать музыкальную эстетику, фундамент которой заложили еще Seefеel - эйфорического шугейза, который медленно растворяется в величественном электронном нойзе. Pinkshinyultrablast дебютировала в 2014-м с полнометражным альбомом «Everything Else Matters», который был с большим интересом встречен международной критикой и открыл группу для зарубежной аудитории.

Seefeel

Группа гитариста Марка Клиффорда и вокалистки Сары Пикок начала с дрим-попа, сыгранного под влиянием My Bloody Valentine и Cocteau Twins, но постепенно углубилась в лабиринты экспериментов и отказалась от песенных структур в пользу медитативных и репетитивных электронных композиций. Их дебютный альбом “Quique”, выпущенный в 1993-м, опередил свое время, предвосхитив будущую популярность idm и пост-рока, и повлиял своим новаторским саундом на многих музыкантов и продюсеров - в том числе на Boards Of Canada и Aphex Twin. В 1995-м музыканты Seefeel взяли творческую паузу, затянувшуюся почти на два десятилетия - альбом-продолжение “Quique” вышел уже в 2011-м, после чего культовая группа обрела новую аудиторию поклонников.