Jan Latham-Koenig. Credit: D.Kochetkov
Date
Friday, April 26, 2019 to Saturday, April 27, 2019
Location
Novaya Opera, Moscow

As part of the UK - Russia Year of Music, the Kolobov Novaya Opera theatre of Moscow presents the Moscow premiere of Benjamin Britten’s (1913 — 1976) prominent opera The Rape of Lucretia (1946). The production continues an English theme in its repertoire, having previously presented the DIDO diptych (of which its second part, Purcell’s Dido and Aeneas, is a baroque masterpiece) and Britten’s The Turn of the Screw.

Britten’s opera and the theme of Lucretia itself as an important story within world culture, but one that is almost absent in a Russian cultural context. As a result, the musical masterpiece has been presented in Russia only twice – by Yury Alexandrov’s production in the St. Petersburg Chamber Opera theatre in 2004 and in Mariinsky theatre in 2013 in concert version (commemorating 100 years since Britten's birth, conducted by Alice Farnham). This makes Novaya Opera’s recourse to Britten’s masterpiece even more significant.

The production is staged by an international team. Ekaterina Odegova (stage director) and Etel Ioshpa (designer) have worked on a range of significant productions that have won the love of spectators and experts alike, among them Richard Strauss’s Salome, Charles Gounod’s Faust, Engelbert Humperdinck’s The Gingerbread House (Hänsel Und Gretel). Jan Latham-Koenig, Chief Guest Conductor of Novaya Opera, is Musical Director of the production, which features the company’s soloists and artists.

Ян Латам-Кёниг. Фото: Д. Кочетков
Date
пятница 26 апреля 2019суббота 27 апреля 2019
Location
Новая Опера, Москва

В Год музыки Великобритании и России Новая Опера представляет первую в Москве постановку выдающейся оперы Бенджамина Бриттена (1913 — 1976) «Поругание Лукреции» (1946). Постановка продолжает «английскую линию» репертуара театра: ранее на сцене Новой Оперы шли диптих DIDO (его вторая часть — шедевр эпохи Барокко, «Дидона и Эней» Г. Пёрселла) и «Поворот винта» Бриттена. 

И опера Бриттена и. главное, сама тема Лукреции как важнейший сюжет мировой культуры практически отсутствуют в русском контексте. В результате история обращений к этому музыкальному шедевру в России состоит всего лишь из двух эпизодов — постановки Юрия Александрова в театре «Санкт-Петербург Опера» в 2004 году и концертного исполнения в Мариинском театре в 2013 году (к 100-летию со дня рождения Бриттена; дирижер Элис Фарнем). Тем важнее обращение Новой Оперы к шедевру Бриттена. 

Спектакль ставит интернациональная команда. На счету режиссера Екатерины Одеговой и художника, Этели Иошпа — ряд знаковых спектаклей, завоевавших любовь зрителей и экспертов; среди них — постановки опер «Саломея» Рихарда Штрауса, «Фауст» Гуно, «Пряничный домик, или Гензель и Гретель» Хумпердинка. Музыкальный руководитель постановки — главный приглашенный дирижер Новой Оперы Ян Латам-Кёниг. В спектакле участвуют солисты и артисты оркестра театра.