Date
Thursday, February 13, 2020 - 19:00

Within the UK-Russia Year of Music, the Studio for New Music Ensemble presents a cross-section of contemporary music from the UK. The concert will be held on February 13th at the Rakhmaninov Hall of the Moscow Conservatory.

NewTon has been conceived as a crossword-puzzle in which some biographical details, together with professional and creative approaches of the authors are intertwined. At first glance, all the composers have little in common except their British nationality, highest quality of music and freedom from any kind of composition school. But up close, there are some interesting parallels from their backgrounds as well as connections concerning the history of the works that will be performed:

  • Brilliant self-taught Brian Ferneyhough who proposed a new model of interaction between composer and performer, encouraging the latter to unleash creative potential and to become a co-author of the work.
  • Composer, violinist, researcher and improviser Roger Redgate who studied with Brian Ferneyhough: his composition Black Icons has been written for and premiered by the Studio for New Music Ensemble and Alexander Ivashkin.
  • Well known to audiences for his work on BBC and as artistic advisor of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, composer and writer Gerard McBurney studied composition at the Moscow Conservatory with Edison Denisov.
  • The youngest-ever recipient of the Composer’s prize of the Siemens Musikstiftung, lecturer at Cambridge University and City University, London, Steven Daverson: his work Elusive Tangibility IV was awarded the first prize at the Jurgenson Composition Competition (2009) held by the Studio for New Music Ensemble.
  • Prizewinner of the First Jurgenson Competition (2001) composer and music philosopher John Croft.
  • Russian-British composer Elena Firsova who studied composition with Edison Denisov in Moscow.
  • One of the most eminent composer-conductors of his generation, Honorary Doctor of the Royal Academy of Music, Oliver Knussen who performed in Russia on several occasions.

Programme

Roger Redgate
Black Icons for cello and ensemble (2011)

Brian Ferneyhough
Coloratura for oboe and piano (1966)

Gerard McBurney
Cherry Cottage 1782 для фортепиано соло (2013)

Steven Daverson
Elusive Tangibility III: Clandestine Haze for ensemble (2011)

John Croft
Seirēnes III: Trio for bass flute, viola and cello (2013)

Mark-Anthony Turnage
Slide Stride for piano and string quartet (2002)

Oliver Knussen
…upon One Note. Fantasia after Purcell for clarinet, violin, cello and piano (1995)

Elena Firsova
Dalla luce alla luce for accordion and string quintet (2014)

Date
четверг 13 февраля 2020 -
19:0021:00

13 февраля в рамках Года Музыки Великобритании и России в Рахманиновском зале Московской государственной консерватории им. П. И. Чайковского ансамбль Студия новой музыки представит концерт NewTon. Современная музыка Великобритании.

NewTon задуман как концерт-сканворд, в котором тесно переплетены биографические факты, профессиональные и творческие взгляды исполняемых авторов. На первый взгляд, кроме британского подданства и индивидуального, хорошо узнаваемого стиля, композиторов не объединяет практически ничего. Но вместе с тем, некоторые факты из их биографий и история создания сочинений, включенных в программу, демонстрируют неожиданные параллели:

  • гениальный автодидакт Брайан Фернихоу, предложивший новую модель взаимодействия автора и исполнителя, в которой последнему предлагается роль соавтора;
  • композитор, скрипач, музыковед и импровизатор Роджер Редгейт, обучавшийся у Фернихоу: его сочинение Black Icons написано специально для ансамбля Студия новой музыки и виолончелиста Александра Ивашкина; 
  • известный широкой публике по своей многолетней деятельности на BBC, а также в качестве программного консультанта Чикагского филармонического оркестра композитор и писатель Джерард Макбёрни, обучавшийся у Эдисона Денисова композиции в Московской консерватории;
  • обладатель премии фонда Сименса, преподаватель Кембриджского университета и City University London Стивен Дэверсон: его сочинение Elusive Tangibility IV было отмечено первой премией на Пятом конкурсе композиции им. П. Юргенсона (2009), который проводился ансамблем Студия новой музыки; 
  • и лауреат Первого конкурса композиции им. П. Юргенсона (2001) композитор и музыкальный философ Джон Крофт;
  • российско-британский композитор Елена Фирсова, учившаяся в Москве у Эдисона Денисова;
  • патриарх британского музыкального мира, почетный доктор Королевской академии музыки в Лондоне Оливер Нассен, неоднократно бывавший в России как дирижер и композитор.

Программа:

Роджер Редгейт
Black Icons для виолончели соло и ансамбля (2011)

Брайан Фернихоу
Колоратура для гобоя и фортепиано (1966)

Джерард Макбёрни
Cherry Cottage 1782 для фортепиано соло (2013)

Стивен Дэверсон
Elusive Tangibility III: Clandestine Haze для ансамбля (2011)

Джон Крофт
Seirēnes III: Trio для басовой флейты, альта и виолончели (2013)

Марк-Энтони Тёрнедж
Slide Stride для фортепиано и струнного квартета (2002)

Оливер Нассен
…upon One Note. Fantasia after Purcell для кларнета, скрипки, виолончели и фортепиано (1995)

Елена Фирсова
Dalla luce alla luce для аккордеона и струнного квинтета (2014)