Date
Thursday, January 23, 2020 - 19:30 to Friday, January 24, 2020 - 19:30

At the lecture, Matt Peacock talked about his experience producing impressive cultural projects from London to Tokyo, from Sierra Leone to Rio — projects that show how music and opera can help bring well-being, freedom of action and security to people that found themselves out in the street at some point in their lives.

In 2002, former social worker and opera critic Matt Peacock founded Streetwise Opera, a charity that uses music and opera to help the homeless people return to normal life.

He came up with the idea having read in a newspaper a quote from a British politician saying “the homeless are the people you step over when you're coming out of the opera”.  

Starting with the production of The Little Prince in Covent Garden with a special homeless cast, Matt Peacock turned Streetwise Opera into a successful production company that rehabilitates declassed people across the UK and receives prestigious awards for opera performances. In 2012, during the Cultural Olympiad in London, Matt Peacock launched the international campaign With One Voice, which scaled the same charity idea to the global level.

Moscow
January 23, 7:30 pm
Garage Education Center
Krymsky Val Street 9, build.4
Register

St Petersburg
January 24, 7:30 pm
New Holland Island, Pavillion
Admiralteysky Canal Embankment, 2
Register

About the lecturer

Matt Peacock MBE is Director of With One Voice, a movement aiming to connect and strengthen arts and homelessness projects around the world and advocating for the arts to be part of homelessness policy. WOV has worked globally from Tokyo to Bogotá, produced 40 events at Rio 2016 and successfully campaigned for the arts to be part of Manchester’s Homelessness Strategy. WOV was founded at Streetwise Opera, becoming independent in 2019 with 50% of the board and staff made up of people who are and have been homeless. Matt is a former support worker, Clore Leadership Fellow, Paul Hamlyn Breakthrough Fund recipient and founder of Streetwise Opera. He is one of Gordon Brown’s Everyday Heroes; one of Evening Standard’s Most Influential Londoners and a Southbank Centre ‘Change Maker’. He was awarded an MBE for services to music and homelessness in 2011.

Date
четверг 23 января 2020 - 19:30пятница 24 января 2020 - 19:30

Во время лекции Мэтт Пикок рассказал о своем опыте продюсирования впечатляющих культурных проектов от Лондона в Токио, от Сьерра-Леоне до Рио — проектов, которые демонстрируют как музыка и опера могут помочь вернуть благополучие, свободу действий и уверенность в завтрашнем дне людям, на том или ином этапе своей жизни оказавшимся на улице.

В 2002-м году бывший социальный работник и оперный критик Мэтт Пикок основал благотворительную организацию Streetwise Opera, которая с помощью музыки и оперы помогает бездомным людям вернуться в нормальную жизнь.

Идея этого проекта возникла у него после того, как он прочел в газете высказывание одного из британских политиков, что «бездомные — это те люди, которых вы стараетесь поскорей обойти стороной, когда выходите из оперного театра».

Начав с постановки «Маленького принца» в Ковент-Гардене со специальной труппой, собранной из бездомных, Мэтт Пикок превратил Streetwise Opera в успешную продакшн-компанию, которая ведет реабилитационную работу по всей Великобритании и собирает престижные награды за оперные постановки. В 2012-м году, во время культурной программы Олимпийских игр в Лондоне Мэтт Пикок инициировал международную кампанию With One Voice, которая масштабировала ту же благотворительную идею на весь земной шар.

Москва
23 января, 19:30
Образовательный центр музея "Гараж"
Крымский Вал 9, стр. 4
Регистрация

Санкт-Петербург
24 января, 19:30
Остров Новая Голландия, Павильон
Набережная Адмиралтейского канала, дом 2
Регистрация

О лекторе

Мэтт Пикок, кавалер ордена Британской империи, занимает должность директора With One Voice — движения за объединение и развитие проектов в области искусства и работы с бездомными людьми по всему миру. Проект также работает над тем, чтобы искусство стало частью политики, отвечающей за борьбу с бездомностью. With One Voice работает по всему миру от Токио до Боготы, в его рамках прошли 40 мероприятий на Летних Олимпийских играх 2016 в Рио-де-Жанейро, а также проект стал инициатором успешной кампании за включение искусства в Манчестерскую стратегию по борьбе с бездомностью. With One Voice была основана как часть Streetwise Opera и отделилась от нее в 2019 году, причем 50% членов совета директоров и сотрудников — это люди, которые были бездомными в прошлом или являются бездомными в настоящий момент.

Мэтт — бывший социальный работник, стипендиат Clore Leadership, получатель гранта от фонда Paul Hamlyn Breakthrough Fund и основатель Streetwise Opera. Признан одним из «повседневных героев» по версии Гордона Брауна; один из самых влиятельных лондонцев по версии газеты Evening Standard и «проводником новых идей» по версии центра Southbank. Удостоен звания кавалера ордена Британской империи за заслуги перед музыкой и бездомными в 2011 году.