The King's Singers. Credit: Rebecca Reid
Date
Thursday, May 16, 2019 - 20:00
Location
Big Hall of the Philharmonia,St. Petersburg

The oldest Philharmonia in Russia, the St. Petersburg Philharmonia, will host The King’s Singers as part of their ‘Gold: 50th anniversary season’ festivities. This year-long tour celebrates a long and accolade-filled history, in which The King’s Singers sextet have sought to increase the popularity of ensemble singing amongst the wider public, performing specially-commissioned pieces from the world’s top living composers just as artfully as bespoke arrangements of popular music. 

In St. Petersburg, the ensemble will perform a programme drawn from the 1986 album ‘The Beatles Connection’, fulfilling their mission of both entertaining and educating their audience, and providing something expected and unexpected at the same time.

About The King’s Singers:

The sextet is said to be one of the best vocal ensembles worldwide. What they offer is masterly. Tireless and with perfect concentration […] they perform each genre with precision and appreciation for the diverse characters of the music.” Volksfreund, June 2016

"It is also the joy in doing... what they do that lends conviction to their singing." Neue Osnabrücker Zeitung, February 2018

The King's Singers. Фото: Rebecca Reid
Date
четверг 16 мая 2019 -
20:0022:00
Location
Большой зал Филармонии, Санкт-Петербург

Концерт ансамбля «The King’s Singers» пройдет в старейшей российской филармонии, Санкт-Петербургской филармонии имени Д.Д. Шостаковича. Это выступление приурочено к юбилейному сезону коллектива и годичным гастролям под названием «Золото: 50-летие». Тур посвящен долгой и успешной истории секстета «The King's Singers» и призван увеличить популярность ансамблевого пения среди широкой публики. На петербургском концерте прозвучат как специально созданные произведения лучших в мире современных композиторов, так и аранжировки популярной музыки.

В Санкт-Петербурге ансамбль исполнит программу, основанную на альбоме 1986 года «The Beatles Connection», что соответствует миссии коллектива: развлекать и просвещать слушателей, одновременно предлагая как традиционные, так и неожиданные композиции.

О коллективе The King’s Singers:

«Секстет считается одним из лучших вокальных ансамблей в мире. Они настоящие виртуозы. Неутомимо и с идеальной концентрацией […] они исполняют все жанры, демонстрируя точность и понимание характера самой разной музыки». Volksfreund, июнь 2016

«Радость от собственной работы… делает их творчество еще более притягательным». Neue Osnabrücker Zeitung, февраль 2018 г.