Date
Monday, October 21, 2019 - 20:00

In November 2017, Gavin Reid was elected Chair of the Association of British Orchestras, an organisation that has been providing invaluable assistance and support to the best UK music collectives for over 70 years. Gavin knows first hand that a chamber ensemble or a symphony orchestra is a delicate and fragile organism, which is difficult to maintain and develop in the 21st century. For about 12 years, Gavin was Principal Trumpet of Manchester Camerata, before he switched to cultural management and became its General Manager. Since then he has added two of Scotland's most important academic ensembles to his CV: the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, where he has been Director since 2016.

Knowing orchestral life as both a musician and a manager, Gavin Reid talked about the expanding role of orchestras, concert halls and festivals in the UK, and about new, unexpected ways to share the amazing power of music with as many people as possible.

About Gavin Reid

Gavin Reid is Chief Executive of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, one of Scotland’s National Performing Companies. Prior to joining the SCO in 2016, Gavin spent ten years as Director of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra.

Born and educated in Edinburgh, he studied the trumpet at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester and the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London before pursuing a freelance career performing and teaching. He was Principal Trumpet of Manchester Camerata from 1989 to 2001 and was responsible for developing their education and outreach programme between 1996 and 2002. Gavin was appointed General Manager of Manchester Camerata in 2002 and in 2004, became one of the first Fellows on the Clore Leadership Programme – a major initiative of the Clore Duffield Foundation aimed at developing and strengthening leadership across the cultural and creative sectors.

He is a Trustee of IMPACT Scotland (International Music and Performing Arts Charitable Trust), the organisation established to create a new mid-scale performance venue – and home for the SCO – in the heart of Edinburgh’s city centre. In October 2018 Gavin was awarded a Fellowship of the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, having served as a Governor from 2012 to 2018. Gavin was elected Chair of the Association of British Orchestras in November 2017.

Date
понедельник 21 октября 2019 -
20:0021:30

В ноябре 2017 года Гэвин Рид был избран председателем Ассоциации британских оркестров - организации, которая больше 70 лет оказывает неоценимую помощь и поддержку лучшим музыкальным коллективам Великобритании. Уроженец Эдинбурга не понаслышке знает о том, какой тонкий и хрупкий организм - камерный ансамбль или симфонический оркестр, и как непросто поддерживать его существование и развитие в XXI-м веке. Около 12 лет Гэвин Рид был первой трубой в манчестерском оркестре Camerata, пока не переключился на культурный менеджмент и не стал руководителем этого заметного коллектива. После этого в резюме Рида появились два важнейших академических ансамбля Шотландии - Шотландский симфонический оркестр BBC и Шотландский камерный оркестр, на посту руководителя которого он находится с 2016 года. 

Досконально зная оркестровую жизнь и с точки зрения музыканта, и с точки зрения управленца, Гэвин Рид расскажет о том, как расширяется роль оркестров, концертных залов и фестивалей в Великобритании, и о том, как музыканты и музыкальные организации находят новые, неожиданные способы разделить удивительную силу музыки с как можно большим количеством людей.

О Гэвине Риде

Гэвин Рид — руководитель Шотландского камерного оркестра в составе Национальных исполнительских коллективов Шотландии. Гэвин присоединился к Шотландскому камерному оркестру в 2016 году, а до этого десять лет занимал должность директора Шотландского симфонического оркестра BBC.

Родился и получил образование в Эдинбурге, окончил Королевский северный музыкальный колледж в Манчестере и Школу музыки и драмы Гилдхолл в Лондоне по классу трубы, затем работал независимым педагогом и исполнителем. Солист, первая труба в манчестерском оркестре Camerata с 1989 по 2001 год; куратор просветительской программы Camerata с 1996 по 2002 год. Гэвин получил должность руководителя Camerata в 2002 году, а в 2004 году стал одним из первых стипендиатов программы лидерства Clore — проекта Фонда Клор Даффилд, направленного на развитие и укрепление лидерства в сфере культуры и искусства.

Попечитель IMPACT Scotland (Международного благотворительного фонда музыки и исполнительских искусств), организации, направленной на создание нового концертного зала среднего размера — репетиционной базы для Шотландского камерного оркестра — в самом центре Эдинбурга. В октябре 2018 года Гэвин был удостоен членства Королевской консерватории Шотландии, ранее входил в совет правления с 2012 по 2018 год. Избран председателем Ассоциации британских оркестров в ноябре 2017 года.