©

Valeriy Belobeev

Date
Thursday, March 14, 2019 - 13:00
Location
Synchronization Cultural Platform, Moscow

Ian Bostridge, one of the UK’s leading tenors, will present the Russian translation of his new book Schubert’s Winter Journey: Anatomy of an Obsession in the format of a public discussion.

Before becoming an outstanding singer, Bostridge had been pursuing his academic path, studying history and philosophy; his PhD thesis was dedicated to witchcraft in England. Only at the age of 31 did he decide to give up his academic career in favour of performing on stage. Today, Bostridge is a renowned opera and lieder singer, whose performances are awaited by the audiences of the most prominent stages around the world, and whose recordings have been nominated for 15 Grammy Awards.

The book Schubert’s Winter Journey was published in 2018 by Penguin Random House and received high acclaim from the critics and the readers: the work won a prestigious literary award The Duff Cooper Prize, and became one of the most notable bestsellers in its genre.

The title of the book refers to the name of a musical cycle of 24 songs composed by Franz Schubert in 1827-1828. For Bostridge, the performance of this song-cycle became his calling card in a way, and nowadays the artist is regarded as one of the best interpreters of Schubert's vocal works. The subtitle Anatomy of an Obsession reflects the devotion of the book’s author — as a researcher, performer and a thoughtful listener — to mastering this famous classical work. The book will be of interest to both established researchers and new admirers of the great work of the Austrian composer.

The book is described by its publisher, Penguin Random House, as an “exploration of the world’s most famous and challenging song cycle, Schubert’s Winter Journey (Winterreise), by a leading interpreter of the work who teases out the themes — literary, historical, psychological — that weave through the twenty-four songs that make up this legendary masterpiece.

The discussion will be moderated by Alexey Munipov, music critic, journalist, and currently the author of a Telegram channel about contemporary classical music “Fermata”.

On the same day, March 14, Ian Bostridge will perform in Russia in the wonderful acoustics of Moscow’s new Zaryadye concert hall with Europa Galante Orchestra. More information: here.

Reviews of Schubert’s Winter Journey: Anatomy of an Obsession:

Ian Bostridge, one of Britain’s foremost tenors…knows every last nuance of the work and has given it a great deal of thought. His beautifully produced book offers many new insights that will inform the enjoyment of both old admirers and newcomers to the music.” The Economist


The songs are discussed in a series of insightful and gracefully written chapters, each drawing on a vast range of learning in cultural and social history, musicology and psychoanalysis.” Daily Telegraph (UK)

©

Валерий Белобеев

Date
четверг 14 марта 2019 -
13:0014:00
Location
Лекторий культурной платформы "Синхронизация", Москва

Иэн Бостридж, один из ведущих британских теноров, представит в Москве русский перевод своей новой книги «Зимний путь» Шуберта: анатомия одержимости» в формате дискуссии.

Прежде чем стать выдающимся певцом, Бостридж двигался по академическому пути, изучая историю и философию; его диссертация была посвящена колдовству в Англии. Лишь в 31 год он принял решение полностью оставить научную карьеру ради сценической. В наши дни Иэн Бостридж — признанный мастер в жанрах оперы и немецкой песни Lied, чьих выступлений на ведущих сценах ждёт публика во всём мире и чьи записи номинированы на 15 премий «Грэмми».

Книга «Зимний путь» Шуберта» вышла в 2018 году в издательстве Penguin Random House и была высоко оценена как критиками, так и читателями: произведение завоевало престижную литературную награду The Duff Cooper Prize и стало одним из заметных бестселлеров в своём жанре. 

Издательство Penguin Random House представляет книгу как «исследование самого известного и сложного в мире цикла песен, «Зимнего путешествия» Шуберта (Winterreise), написанное ведущим исполнителем произведения, выделяющим основные темы — литературные, исторические, психологические — и прослеживающим их в двадцати четырех песнях этого легендарного шедевра».

Ведущий встречи — Алексей Мунипов, музыкальный критик, журналист, в настоящее время автор телеграм-канала о современной академической музыке «Фермата».

В этот же день, 14 марта, Иэн Бостридж выступит в России в прекрасной акустике нового московского концертного зала «Зарядье» с Europa Galante. Дополнительная информация о концерте доступна по ссылке.

Отзывы на «Зимний путь» Шуберта — анатомия одержимости»:

«Иэн Бостридж, один из выдающихся британских теноров ... знает каждый нюанс музыки и много о ней размышлял. Его прекрасно написанная книга предлагает много новых идей, которые принесут удовольствие как старым поклонникам, так и новичкам в музыке» The Economist


«Проницательные и изящно написанные главы анализируют песни, опираясь на широкий спектр знаний в области культурной и социальной истории, музыковедения и психоанализа» Daily Telegraph (Великобритания)