Date
Saturday, February 8, 2020 - 16:00

On 8 February, Saratov’s Conservatory building will host the Chords & Words festival, a one-day Russian-British music seminar, attended by Alexey Munipov, Kirill Moshkov, Sergey Letov and local musicians.

Chords & Words is one of a series of joint UK-Russia Year of Music projects – ten one-day seminars dedicated to the symbiosis of music and literature, and the mutual influence of Russian and English cultures. Events have already been held in Rostov-on-Don, Perm, Novosibirsk, Nizhny Novgorod, Petrozavodsk, Kazan, Saint Petersburg and Ekaterinburg.

The project is organised by the ANO “Literary and Historical Club” with the support of the British Embassy in Moscow, and curated by book critic Konstantin Milchin and cultural curator Mikhail Faustov.

The programme includes:

  • Alexey Munipov “Fermata: how does a modern composer work?”

Famous music critic Alexey Munipov, the former editor-in-chief of Bolshoi Gorod and Afisha-Vozdukh magazines, will give a lecture on contemporary composers. Last year, he released the book “Fermata” – a collection of interviews with key figures of Russian music. Munipov will discuss the existence of progress in music, how new and traditional music differ, how to talk to composers correctly and the sources of their inspiration.

  • Kirill Moshkov. "Duke Ellington: the musical genius of the twentieth century": Lecture and concert

Last year marked the 120th anniversary of the birth of American composer, pianist, and jazz bandleader Edward Kennedy Ellington, known to the world by the nickname Duke. Initially, Ellington was known only in the United States, but it was in the United Kingdom where Duke achieved international fame. In 1933, the Ellington Orchestra went on its first European tour, which began in England. London-based composer and musicologist Constant Lambert was the first serious critic to write about Ellington as a world musician whose influence extends beyond the world of jazz. Kirill Moshkov, a music journalist and editor-in-chief of Russian jazz publication Jazz.ru, will discuss the history of a great musician who left a colossal creative legacy and influenced the development of almost all music of the twentieth century. Contemporary Saratov jazz musicians will perform live versions of Ellington's famous compositions, proving that his music continues to live after more than a century.

  • Sergey Letov “History of British jazz”

Sergey Letov, a legendary jazz player, multi-instrumentalist and music theorist, will give a lecture on the history of British jazz. Despite the fact that in the mass consciousness British jazz sits in the shadow of its American counterpart, the UK has much to be proud of. Letov will discuss the origin of jazz traditions in the United Kingdom and follow its history to the modern day. The lecture will end with a jazz performance.

Staff from the British Embassy will also give a presentation on the Chevening scholarship program, a scheme to provide Russian scholars with an all-expenses paid master’s degree in any field in any UK university.

Date
суббота 08 февраля 2020 -
16:0019:00

В Саратов на один день приедет русско-британский музыкальный семинар. 8 февраля в здании Консерватории пройдет фестиваль Chords & Words, в котором примут участие Алексей Мунипов, Кирилл Мошков, Сергей Летов и саратовские музыканты.

Chords & Words – один из проектов совместного Года музыки Великобритании и России. Это десять однодневных семинаров, посвященных симбиозу музыки и литературы, взаимному влиянию русской и английской культур. Уже состоялись мероприятия в Ростове-на-Дону, Перми, Новосибирске, Нижнем Новгороде, Петрозаводске, Казани, Санкт-Петербурге и Екатеринбурге.

Организатор проекта – АНО “Литературно-Исторический Клуб” при поддержке Посольства Великобритании в Москве, кураторы – книжный критик Константин Мильчин и культуртрегер Михаил Фаустов.

В программе:

  • Алексей Мунипов «Фермата: как устроен современный композитор?»

Известный музыкальный критик Алексей Мунипов, бывший главный редактор «Большого города» и журнала «Афиша-воздух», прочтет лекцию о современных композиторах. В прошлом году он выпустил книгу «Фермата» – сборник интервью с ключевыми фигурами отечественной музыки. Мунипов расскажет о том есть ли в музыке прогресс или она стоит на месте, чем новая музыка отличается от традиционный, как правильно разговаривать с композиторами и где они черпают вдохновение.

  • Кирилл Мошков. «Дюк Эллингтон: музыкальный гений ХХ века»: Лекция с концертом

В прошлом году исполнилось 120 лет со дня рождения американского композитора, пианиста, руководителя джазового оркестра по имени Эдвард Кеннеди Эллингтон. Весь мир знает его под прозвищем «Дюк» — Герцог. Изначально Эллингтон был известен только в США, но именно Великобритания была местом, где к Дюку пришла международная слава. В 1933 году оркестр Эллингтона впервые отправился в европейское турне, начав его с Англии. Лондонский композитор и музыковед Констант Ламберт был первым серьёзным критиком, кто стал писать об Эллингтоне как музыканте всемирного масштаба, значение которого куда шире жанровых рамок джаза. Об истории великого музыканта, оставившего колоссальное творческое наследие и повлиявшего на развитие едва ли не всей музыки ХХ века, расскажет главный редактор российского джазового издания «Джаз.Ру», музыкальный журналист с 30-летним стажем Кирилл Мошков. Музыкальные иллюстрации звучат не в записи, а живьём: саратовские джазовые музыканты нынешнего поколения исполняют свои версии известных сочинений Эллингтона, доказывая, что его музыка продолжает жить даже спустя столетие.

  • Сергей Летов «История британского джаза»

Сергей Летов, легендарный джазмен, музыкант-мультиинструменталист и теоретик музыки прочтет лекцию об истории британского джаза. Несмотря на то, что в массовом сознании британский джаз находится в тени американского, Великобритании есть чем гордиться. Летов расскажет о зарождении джазовых традиций в Соединенном Королевстве и дойдет до новейших музыкальных экспериментов. Лекция закончится джазовым перфомансом.

Кроме того, сотрудники посольства Великобритании расскажут о стипендиальной программе Chevening, позволяющей бесплатно получить степень магистра в любом вузе Великобритании по любой специальности.