Date
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Location
Horatios Bar, Brighton

The Great Escape is the main UK’s showcase festival for emerging musicians, taking place every year in Brighton. This year it will gather more than 500 artists from around the world, and included in this will be a selection of the best in emerging Russian bands, performing within the framework of the UK-Russia Year of Music. 

For the second time, The Great Escape will include a RUSH Initiative showcase, featuring four Russian groups: Shortparis, Chkbns, Fogh Depot and Lucidvox. 

RUSH is the first non-commercial non-state music export initiative in Russia, having first brought together music experts in 2017 with the aim of promoting the most promising Russian musicians outside the country and establishing an international cultural dialogue.

ABOUT MUSICIANS

SHORTPARIS

After getting together in 2012, Shortparis quickly became the most outstanding representative of the Russian underground scene, performing at high-capacity concert venues as well as weird and wonderful places like abandoned factories and even supermarkets. The band, who have already recorded two albums, have also performed at flagship Eastern European showcase festivals such as Tallinn Music Week and MENT. These appearances attracted significant numbers of exuberant reviews and write-ups. The highly performative concerts of Shortparis are known for squeezing the emotion and energy out of their audiences. They are hard to analyse – you have to see Shorparis live to experience the shamanistic ritual-like mystical adventure they take you on. Witnessing the audaciously energetic delivery of vocalist Nikolai Komyagin and his colleagues, you can’t help but admire the creativity of this electronic noir-art-punk quintet from St. Petersburg, recalling their sources of inspiration – Ian Curtis, Sexy Sue, Peter Murphy, Nick Cave, Blixa Bargeld, and Jamie Stewart from Xiu Xiu. Although Shortparis perform in English and French as well as in Russian, the band’s origins are apparent right away, demonstrating affiliation with the culture of the Russian people – a people whose inexplicable strangeness is best attributed to the ‘mysterious Russian soul’.

CHKBNS

Growing up in Russia’s southern city of Stavropol, sisters Aneliya and Emily listened to bootleg Nirvana and dreamt of faraway Seattle. Recently, this dream became reality in a way they could have never imagined: the band Chkbns – for which Aneliya writes the lyrics, sings and plays guitar, Emily is the drummer and their friend Slava practices a kind of witchcraft on synthesizers – has not only visited the so-called Rain City, but also recorded their new album there as well as being broadcast live on the cult indie radio station KEXP. Prior to this, the trio – which was formed in St. Petersburg in 2012 – performed in Sweden, England, Canada, South Korea, Hong Kong, China and Vietnam. Harmonically combining haunting female vocals, romantic synthesizer, resonant guitar and explosive drums, the music of Chkbns is wholly accessible and requires no translation, no matter where it is performed. Their songs speak the universal language of indomitable idealism and utopian love.

FOGH DEPOT

Fogh Depot is a unique band rising in fast ascent over the Russian musical landscape. Combining elements of dark jazz, neoclassical minimalism and intelligent electronica, the trio Fogh Depot was established in 2014. The band, which performs intriguing instrumental music on classical instruments – e.g. saxophone and piano – combined with technological innovations, mixes eloquently traced melodies and unusual sound textures, energetic beat and intricate, unpredictable polyrhythmic improvisations, and austere composition. Each and every performance by Fogh Depot is akin to experiencing something like a filmic thriller, the smooth tempo and melancholic mood of which creates explicit tension and accentuates the obligatory climax. The Moscow-based trio has released two albums on the German label Denovali: their debut S/T was followed by Turmalinturm, released at the end of 2017. Tourmaline – a gemstone found in a wide variety of colours in nature, which also changes colour depending on the angle of the light – is an excellent metaphor to describe the multilayered and shapeshifting music of Fogh Depot, which reveals itself in new light in each performance.

LUCIDVOX

Moscow-based rock band Lucidvox is made up of four girls – Alina (vocals), Galla (guitar), Nadya (drums) and Anya (bass) – but gestures at nothing that could be associated with typical gender stereotypes. Inspired by traditional Russian singing and contemporary garage bands such as Goat and Flamingods, Lucidvox perform powerful and assertive psychedelic rock, based on folk melodies and the imagery of Slavic myths. Following their performance at Tallinn Music Week 2017, the quartet caught the eye of the English-language media. ‘Lucidvox are a revelation’, well-known British journalist and leader of punk band The Membrances, John Robb, enthused in the authoritative music blog Louder Than War. Robb is not alone in being impressed by how this band of musicians from Moscow are stretching the boundaries of Anglo-American alt-rock. In 2018, Lucidvox performed at the biggest festival of their professional career, the Slovak open-air Pohoda Festival – with headliners that included The Chemical Brothers, Ride and St. Vincent. There is little doubt that this is only the start of what is set to be a magnificent musical career.

Date
четверг 09 мая 2019
Location
Бар Horatios, Брайтон

The Great Escape – главный шоукейс-фестиваль Великобритании для молодых музыкантов, каждый год проходит в приморском городе Брайтон. В этом году на него съедутся больше 500 артистов из разных стран мира. В том числе приедут и из России – в рамках Года музыки Великобритании и России 2019.

9 мая на The Great Escape пройдет второй шоукейс инициативы RUSH, где выступят четыре российских коллектива: Shortparis, Сhkbns, Fogh Depot, Lucidvox.

RUSH – это первая в России некоммерческая негосударственная инициатива, объединившая в 2017-м году музыкальных экспертов с целью продвижения самых многообещающих российских музыкантов за пределами страны и налаживания международного культурного диалога

О МУЗЫКАНТАХ

SHORTPARIS

Образовавшись в 2012-м году, Shortparis быстро стали наиболее яркими представителями российского андеграунда, которые наряду с концертами в тысячных клубах готовы к открытым выступлениям на заброшенных заводах или в супермаркетах. Группа записала два альбома и уже выступила на ключевых восточноевропейских фестивалях-шоукейсах Tallinn Music Week и MENT в Любляне, собрав ворох восторженных отзывов и рецензий. Выжимающие из публики эмоции и энергию концерты-перформансы Shortparis трудно проанализировать, их лучше однажды пережить как шаманский ритуал или мистический опыт. Источники вдохновения нуарного электронного арт-панка петербургского квинтета считываются: глядя на манеру исполнения вокалиста Николая Комягина, поддерживаемого своими коллегами, можно вспомнить Йена Кертиса, Сьюкси Сью, Питера Мерфи, Ника Кейва, Бликсу Баргельда и Джейми Стюарта из Xiu Xiu – эти музыкальные герои, уничтожавшие границу между рок-музыкой и фатумом, явно находятся в иконостасе Shortparis. Однако, несмотря на то, что Shortparis исполняют песни не только на русском, но и на английском и французском, в них мгновенно опознается происхождение – принадлежность к русской народной культуре и необъяснимая странность, которую лучшего всего описывает идиома “загадочная русская душа”.

CHKBNS

В школьном детстве, проведенном в Ставрополе, сестры Анелия и Эмилия слушали Nirvana на пиратских кассетах и мечтали о далеком Сиэтле. Недавно их мечта исполнилась в десятикратном размере: группа Chkbns, в которой Анелия сочиняет песни, поет и играет на гитаре, Эмилия стучит в барабаны, а их друг Слава колдует над синтезатором, побывала в Городе дождей, где они записали новый альбом и выступили в прямом эфире культовой инди-радиостанции KEXP. До этого трио, образовавшееся в 2012-м в Санкт-Петербурге, успело объездить с выступлениями Швецию, Англию, Канаду, Южную Корею, Гонконг, Китай и Вьетнам. Музыка Chkbns, в которой гармонично сочетаются романтический синтезатор, звонкая гитара, взрывные барабаны и парящий женский голос, понятна в любой стране без перевода. Эти песни говорят на универсальном языке непобедимого идеализма и утопической любви.

FOGH DEPOT

Fogh Depot — уникальная для российского музыкального ландшафта группа. Объединяя элементы дарк-джаза, неоклассического минимализма и умной электроники, трио с 2014 года играет интригующую инструментальную музыку, в которой уживаются ярко вычерченные мелодии и необычные звуковые текстуры, энергичный бит и сложная полиритмия, непредсказуемая импровизация и строгая композиция, классические инструменты (саксофон, фортепиано) и технологические новшества. Каждая композиция Fogh Depot – это остросюжетный фильм, чей вкрадчивый темп и меланхоличное настроение создают напряжение и оттеняют обязательную кульминацию. Турмалин – это ювелирный камень, который встречается в природе в огромном разнообразии оттенков и способен менять свой окрас в зависимости от угла падения света. Сравнение с многоликим турмалином – самая подходящая метафора для многослойной, постоянно меняющей форму музыки Fogh Depot, которая открывается в новом свете с каждым прослушиванием.

LUCIDVOX

В московской рок-группе Lucidvox играют четыре хрупкие девушки — Алина (вокал), Галла (гитара), Надя (барабаны) и Аня (бас) — при этом в их музыке нет ничего хрупкого или девичьего, да и хоть сколько-нибудь ассоциирующегося с гендерными стереотипами. Вдохновляясь традициями русского пения и современными гаражными группами типа Goat и Flamingods, Lucidvox выдают мощный и напористый психоделический рок, основанный на фолковой мелодике и образах из славянских мифов. После появления Lucidvox на фестивале Tallinn Music Week 2017 о квартете начала писать англоязычная пресса. “Lucidvox — это откровение” — заявил в авторитетном блоге Louder Than War именитый британский журналист и лидер панк-группы The Membranes Джон Робб, восхищенный тем как москвички выходят за пределы границ англо-американского альт-рока.  В 2018-м Lucidvox сыграли на крупнейшем фестивале в истории группы — словацком опенэйре Pohoda Festival, где среди хедлайнеров были Chemical Brothers, Ride и St.Vincent, и это, мы уверены, только начало их блестящего пути.