As part of the UK-Russia Year of Music, the Afisha Picnic Festival hosted a Selector Live Showcase bringing together talented British and Russian musicians. 

In the shade of trees by the river which evoke the serenity of English parks, it featured joint performances of Lafawndah and Kate NV, concerts by Benin City and Rosie Lowe, and improvisation by Total Refreshment Centre and Russian musicians. 

BENIN CITY 

Benin City is a London-based trio: singer and poet Joshua Idehen, soul vocalist Shanaz Dorsett and multi-instrumentalist Tom Leaper. The band's most recent album, Last Night, was released in 2018 by London-based independent record label Moshi Moshi, which discovered Bloc Party and Hot Chip. Last Night is an ode to London’s nightlife, composed by musicians who refer to their personal clubbing experience and memories of cult places that no longer exist. Benin City organically mix afro-pop, indie rock, electro, hip-hop, and drum-n-bass, and are one of the most versatile bands in London.

ROSIE LOWE

Rosie Lowe made her first appearance in 2013 with the single Right Thing. Having heard her abstracted and sensual voice on this recording, super producer Paul Epworth (Adele, Florence and The Machine and others) invited her to his label Wolf Tone to join The Horrors and Glass Animals. Her debut album Control, produced by Dave Okumu from The Invisible, was a brilliant example of British neo-soul. After its release, Rosie was compared to Jessie Ware, James Blake, and even Annie Lennox. On her latest album, YU, released in May 2019, Rosie Lowe expanded her list of collaborators by working with rapper Jay Electronica and electronic experimenter Floating Points. The influential music website Pitchfork praised this album and predicted a promising future for her.

LAFAWNDAH AND KATE NV

The Selector Live Showcase also featured a joint project by London-based audio artist Lafawndah and Russian artist Kate Shilonosova (Kate NV).

Yasmin Dubois, known by the pseudonym Lafawndah, is of Iranian-Egyptian origins. She is now based in London but has traveled the world: she stayed in New York and Teheran, was inspired by salsa in Mexico City, studied art in Paris and music in Japan, recorded her zouk-styled EP in Guatemala, and took part in the Red Bull Music Academy in Tokyo. In March 2019, Lafawndah released the album Ancestor Boy with the heroes of the new bass music Nick Weiss from Teengirl Fantasy and L-Vis 1990. In April the Barbican Centre presented the Ceremonial Blue project, a collaboration of Lafawndah and legendary Japanese percussionist Midori Takada, with great success.

Kate Shilonosova (Kate NV) is one of the most original and recognisable singers of the Russian indie scene, a member of the post-punk band Glintshake (now called ГШ) and an experimental artist with a successful international career. Her latest album, For For, is an unusual sound portrait of Moscow, released in 2018 via Brooklyn-based label RVNG Intl. and met with a bunch of rave reviews in foreign media. Last year, Kate Shilonosova presented the Decisive Pink project at the Sónar Festival in Barcelona – a collaboration with American artist Angel Deradoorian, inspired by Kandinsky's abstractions and the Krautrock band Can.

TOTAL REFRESHMENT CENTRE

The highlight of the Selector Live Showcase was improvised new British jazz performed by Total Refreshment Centre and young Russian musicians.

The creative association Total Refreshment Centre, which has given birth to all contemporary London jazz, was originally conceived as a social club: a place where local residents can hang out and spend time together. Very soon, TRC opened rehearsal facilities and recording studios, a stage, spaces for film screening, photo exhibitions and showcases. Young jazz musicians began to gather and play with each other, and it was here, in the Total Refreshment Studio, that the leading bands of today’s British jazz emerged: Sons of Kemet and The Comet Is Coming. What began in 2012 as a semi-squatting community of enthusiasts who invaded an empty building on the outskirts of London turned into a landmark event on the British scene in 2019, with a showcase at the Barbican Centre, supported by the Boiler Room.

At the Selector Live Showcase the Total Refreshment Centre was represented by poet and saxophonist Angus Fairbairn, who records spoken word and jazz albums under the nickname Alabaster dePlume, composer and saxophonist Chelsea Carmichael, and Capitol K. The latter is the name under which Kristian Craig Robinson works as a musician, producer, Faith & Industry label manager and one of the pioneers of the folktronica genre. He was previously signed to the record labels Planet Mu and XL Recordings and worked with The Comet is Coming, Ibibio Sound Machine and Patrick Wolf as a producer and sound engineer. 

The Total Refreshment Centre musicians performed together with Russian artists. The collaboration is curated by Dmitry Ustinov and includes guitarist Maxim Makarychev and bass player Dima Midborn (On-The-Go), composer and popularizer of contemporary academic music, soloist of the Tchaikovsky Moscow Philharmonic Society Dmitry Vlasik, and Moscow-based musician Poko Cox.

Afisha Picnic Festival

Afisha Picnic is the largest open-air music festival in Moscow, attracting more than 60,000 people. The main stage will feature the legendary The Cure. The Royal Blood, Blossoms, SBPCh and Give Us a Tank (!) will also perform on the main stage. The Summer Stage traditionally showcases completely different styles, from rap to pop groove. It will feature Pusha-T, Mura Masa, Antokha MC with the Live Band, Kazuskom and Eighteen. A separate stage will be given to the Gazgolder Live festival. The creative association Gazgolder will curate it, bringing such artists as Basta, Gruppa Skryptonite, T-Fest, Matrang, Smokey Mo, Vadiara Blues, and Lucaveros. Besides music, Afisha Picnic offers an extensive gastronomic programme, a market, outdoor entertainment events, performances, contemporary art – and countless other ways to have a great time.

Selector Live

Our Selector Live programme is dedicated to showcasing the most exciting new British music. For several years, Selector Live has introduced contemporary British musicians and DJs to Russian audiences. The performers are chosen by the hosts of the Selector radio show, who broadcast their selections from London to an audience of over three million listeners in 40 countries around the world.

Actress x London Contemporary Orchestra, Matthew Herbert, Ben Khan, King Midas Sound, Dean Blunt and Plaid are just some of the artists who have performed at Selector Live events over the past years.

External links

В рамках Года музыки Великобритании и России на Пикнике «Афиши» была открыта специальная площадка Selector Live Showcase, которая объединила талантливых британских и российских музыкантов. Расположенная в тени деревьев у реки, она дала возможность погрузиться в атмосферу безмятежности английских парков и увидеть уникальные совместные выступления Lafawndah и Kate NV, концерты Benin City и Рози Лоу, а также импровизационный шоукейс творческого объединения Total Refreshment Center, в котором приняли участие российские музыканты. 

Benin City 

Benin City — трио из Лондона, состоящее из певца и поэта Джошуа Идеэна, соул-вокалистки Шаназ Дорсетт и мультиинструменталиста Тома Липера. Последний альбом группы, «Last Night», был выпущен в 2018 году флагманом независимой музыки лондонским лейблом Moshi Moshi, когда-то открывшим Bloc Party и Hot Chip. «Last Night» — это ода ночной жизни Лондона, сочиненная музыкантами, которые ради этого обратились к личному опыту работы в клубах и вспомнили истории, связанные с культовыми местами, которых уже нет. В своих песнях Benin City органично смешивают афропоп, инди-рок, электро, хип-хоп и драм-н-бейс, за что их прозвали одной из самых разносторонних лондонских групп.

Рози Лоу

Британская певица Рози Лоу впервые заявила о себе в 2013 году синглом «Right Thing». Услышав на этой записи ее отстраненный и чувственный голос, британский суперпродюсер Пол Эпуорт (Adele, Florence and The Machine и другие) пригласил ее на свой лейбл Wolf Tone в компанию к The Horrors и Glass Animals. Дебютный альбом «Control», спродюсированный Дейвом Окуму из The Invisible, стал блестящим образцом британского неосоула. После его выхода певицу сравнивали с Джесси Уэр, Джеймсом Блейком и даже Энни Леннокс. На последнем альбоме «YU», вышедшем в мае 2019-го, Рози Лоу расширила список коллабораторов, включив туда рэпера Jay Electronica и электронного экспериментатора Floating Points. Авторитетный музыкальный сайт Pitchfork высоко оценил этот альбом и предрек Рози Лоу большое будущее.

Lafawndah и Kate NV

Также на сцене Selector Live Showcase состоялась премьера уникального совместного проекта лондонской аудиохудожницы Lafawndah и российской артистки Кати Шилоносовой (Kate NV). 

У Ясмин Дюбуа, взявшей себе псевдоним Lafawndah, ирано-египетские корни. Она сейчас живет в Лондоне, но успела изрядно попутешествовать по свету: жила в Нью-Йорке и Тегеране, вдохновлялась сальсой в Мехико, изучала искусство в Париже и музыку в Японии, записала дебютный альбом в стиле зук в Гватемале, принимала участие в Red Bull Music Academy в Токио. В марте 2019 года у Lafawndah вышел альбом «Ancestor Boy», который ей помогали записывать герои новой бас-музыки Ник Уайсc из Teengirl Fantasy и L-Vis 1990. А в апреле в центре Barbican был с успехом показан проект «Ceremonial Blue» — совместная работа Lafawndah и легендарной японской перкуссионистки Мидори Такады. 

Катя Шилоносова (Kate NV) — одна из самых самобытных и узнаваемых певиц российской инди-сцены, участница постпанк-группы Glintshake (ныне «ГШ») и экспериментирующая артистка с успешной международной карьерой. Ее последний альбом «Для For» — необычный звуковой портрет Москвы, вышел в 2018-м на бруклинском лейбле RVNG Intl. и собрал ворох восторженных отзывов в зарубежных медиа. В прошлом же году Катя Шилоносова представила на фестивале Sónar в Барселоне проект Decisive Pink — коллаборацию с американкой Энджел Дерадурян, вдохновленную абстракциями Кандинского и музыкой краутрок-титанов Can.

Total Refreshment Centre

Центральным событием сцены Selector Live Showcase стало импровизационное выступление нового британского джаза от представителей объединения Total Refreshment Center и молодых российских музыкантов. 

Творческое объединение Total Refreshment Center, из которого вышел весь современный лондонский джаз, изначально задумывалось как социальный клуб — место, где жители района могут найти себе занятия по душе и провести время вместе. Очень скоро в TRC открылись репетиционные точки и звукозаписывающие студии, площадка для выступлений, пространства для показа фильмов, фотовыставок и шоукейсов. Здесь начали собираться молодые джазовые музыканты, чтобы в свое удовольствие поиграть друг с другом, и именно здесь, в Total Refreshment Studio, появились лидирующие группы сегодняшнего дня в британском джазе — Sons of Kemet и The Comet Is Coming. То, что начиналось в 2012 году как полусквоттерское сообщество энтузиастов, захвативших пустующее здание на окраине Лондона, в 2019 году превратилось в знаковое явление на британской сцене, с шоукейсом на главной арт-площадке столицы Barbican, состоявшимся при поддержке Boiler Room. 

На Selector Live Showcase в составе Total Refreshment Center выступили поэт-саксофонист Ангус Фейрберн, записывающий спокен-ворд и джазовые альбомы под именем Alabaster dePlume, композитор и саксофонистка Челси Кармайкл, а также Capitol K, он же Кристиан Робинсон - музыкант и управляющий лейбла Faith & Industry, один из пионеров «фолктроники», который выходил на Planet Mu и XL Recordings, записывал The Comet is Coming, Ibibio Sound Machine, Патрика Вульфа.

В коллаборации с музыкантами Total Refreshment Centre, куратором которой выступил Дмитрий Устинов, приняли участие российские артисты: участники группы On-The-Go гитарист Максим Макарычев и басист Дима Мидборн, композитор и популяризатор современной академической музыки, солист Московской филармонии имени П.И.Чайковского Дмитрий Власик, а также московский музыкант Poko Cox.

О Пикнике "Афиши"

Пикник «Афиши» — крупнейший в Москве музыкальный фестиваль на открытом воздухе, ежегодно собирающий более 60 000 человек. Главную сцену закроют легендарные The Cure. Кроме них на главной сцене Пикника выступят Royal Blood, Blossoms, «СБПЧ» и «Дайте танк (!)». Сцена Summer Stage традиционно будет отдана совершенно разным стилям, от рэпа до поп-грува. Здесь выступят Pusha-T, Mura Masa, Антоха MC с Live Band, «Казускома» и Eighteen. Отдельная сцена будет отдана фестивалю Gazgolder Live. Отвечать за нее будет творческое объединение «Газгольдер», здесь сыграют такие артисты, как Баста, проект Скриптонита Gruppa Skryptonite, T-Fest, Matrang, Смоки Мо, Вадяра Блюз и Lucaveros. Помимо музыки Пикник «Афиши» — это обширная гастрономическая программа, маркет, развлечения на свежем воздухе, перформансы, современное искусство — и еще миллион способов отлично провести время.

Selector Live 

Серия вечеринок Selector Live, организованная Британским Советом, посвящена самой интересной новой британской музыке. На протяжении нескольких лет Selector Live знакомит российскую публику с актуальными британскими музыкантами и диджеями, за выбор которых отвечают создатели радиопрограммы Selector , вещающей из Лондона на аудиторию свыше трех миллионов слушателей в 40 странах мира.

Actress & London Contemporary Orchestra, Matthew Herbert, Ben Khan, King Midas Sound, Dean Blunt и Plaid — вот далеко не полный список артистов, выступавших в рамках событий Selector Live.

External links