In 2019, as part of the UK-Russia Year of Music, Rinse FM will release a series of programmes about today’s Russian music, for the first time in the radio station's history. Each programme will be curated by a Russian musician selected by the Rinse FM programme directors. These radio shows will demonstrate the diversity of Russian contemporary music to large British audiences, which will help Russian musicians develop an international career.

April: PTU

The first programme on Rinse FM is curated by PTU. Listen to their mix on Soundcloud.

ABOUT PTU

‘Even a broken watch is right twice a day’ — this title could suit a book of short stories, but it belongs to the debut album by the PTU  duo. It was released in 2017 by TRIP, label of the Siberian techno-star Nina Kravitz. After this Camille EA and Alina Izolenta, who had composed music on the outskirts of Kazan, became popular among both the international music media and the festivals of underground electronics. The duo PTU records and plays lively surreal techno-compositions that break standard genre patterns. They unscrew the usual music into small details and reassemble them in a new order, producing unusual musical constructs, to which, oddly enough, you can dance. The duo compares their music with kinetic sculptures that move with the wind: “The work moves all the time and the environment makes it slightly change the pattern, the rhythm of its movement”.

ABOUT RINSE FM

Pirate radio stations have become trademarks of the UK music scene, quite like Benjamin Britten’s operas or The Beatles’ songs. Since the swinging 1960s, London music lovers and adventurers have broadcasted their favourite tracks regardless of any legal restrictions. They became catalysts for the underground cultural revolution and helped to create the musical phenomena that later conquered the world.

Without the pirate radio station Rinse FM, founded 25 years ago in East London by two 16-year-olds, contemporary British music would not be where it is today. A lot of grime-artists, who later became international stars, made their first contact with wide audiences on Rinse FM, i.e. Dizzee Rascal, Wiley, Skepta and others. Dubstep sounded in full here when its audiences were still limited to a hundred visitors of London underground parties.

After receiving a broadcasting license in 2011, Rinse FM has become an established and popular London radio station, which keeps abreast of UK and world contemporary music. It broadcasts the entire range of mutations of pop, urban and dance music, reflecting the pulse of the largest metropolitan areas, from Los Angeles to Tokyo.

В 2019-м в рамках Года музыки Великобритании и России, впервые в истории радиостанции, на Rinse FM выйдет серия программ, посвященных актуальной российской музыке. Куратором каждой программы выступит определенный российский музыкант, выбранный программными директорами Rinse FM. Эти радиошоу откроют многообразие современной музыки в России для большой британской аудитории и помогут отечественным музыкантам развить международную карьеру.

Апрель: PTU

Кураторами первой программы на Rinse FM выпустил дуэт PTU: послушайте их микс на Soundcloud.

О PTU

“Даже сломанные часы правы дважды в день” – название, которое могло бы подойти сборнику рассказов, но его носит дебютный альбом дуэта PTU. Этот релиз, вышедший в 2017-м году на лейбле сибирской техно-звезды Нины Кравиц “ТРИП”, сделал дуэт Камиля ЕА и Алины Изоленты, писавших музыку на окраине Казани, объектом интереса международных музыкальных медиа и желанными героями фестивалей андеграундной электроники. PTU записывают и играют живьем сюрреалистические техно-композиции, в которых нарушают стандартные схемы жанра. Они развинчивают их на мелкие детали и пересобирают в новом порядке, получая необычные музыкальные конструкты, под которые, как ни странно, можно танцевать. Дуэт сравнивает свою музыку с кинетическими скульптурами, которые меняют характер движения в зависимости от ветра: “произведение движется и под воздействием среды немного, еле заметно меняет паттерн, ритмику своего движения”.

О RINSE FM

Пиратские радиостанции – такой же музыкальный символ Великобритании, как и оперы Бенджамина Бриттена или песни The Beatles. Со времен свингующих 1960-х лондонские меломаны-авантюристы, выдававшие в эфир любимую музыку c нарушением законодательства, становились катализаторами революций, происходивших из андеграунда, и помогали рождению культурных феноменов, которым впоследствии было суждено покорить мир.

Без пиратской радиостанции Rinse FM, основанной 25 лет назад в восточных кварталах Лондона двумя 16-летними юнцами, современная британская музыка была бы совсем другой. На волнах Rinse FM дебютировали перед большой аудиторией грайм-артисты, которые сейчас являются международными звездами: Dizzee Rascal, Wiley, Skepta и другие, и в полную мощь зазвучал дабстеп, когда его аудитория еще исчислялась сотней посетителей одной подпольной лондонской вечеринки.

Сейчас Rinse FM, получившая лицензию на вещание в 2011-м – авторитетное и популярное лондонское радио, которое держит руку на пульсе не только того, что происходит в музыке Великобритании, но и во всем мире. В ее эфире представлен весь спектр мутаций поп-, урбан- и танцевальной музыки, отражающих пульс крупнейших мегаполисов - от Лос-Анджелеса до Токио.