Saffron Records ©

Tom Ham

The Cultural and Education Section of the British Embassy in Moscow together with Parallel have launched an open call, seeking women working in the music industry to take part in the professional development programme ‘Parallel Residence II’ from 20-27 May 2019.

Parallel strives to foster inclusivity and gender equality for women in the music industry, through its educational programmes and music events. Participants will be invited to develop their song writing and production skills in small groups, whilst given access to studios with special music equipment. The programme will also include intensive workshops run by UK organisations Saffron Records and Brighter Sound, as well as a DJ set from FEMME amongst other local acts. The aim is to create a safe environment based on inspiration and support, in which the participating women can develop ideas and immerse themselves creatively. 

Applications are welcome until Monday 13 May. The panel will select 15 successful participants from the applications received.

Parallel Residence II is supported by the Institute for Music Initiatives and Moscow Music School.

Sessions by the UK experts

FEMME

Intensive session from Saffron Records: an Introduction To DJ-ing

Venue: Powerhouse
May 20-21, 2019

11:00 - 18:00

Saffron’s ‘Mix Nights’ mentors will present an introduction to DJing in a fun, informal workshop style environment., Mentors will cover the technical basics of DJing and share their knowledge and experience on the more lateral aspects, such as finding ‘your sound’ and crafting a set.

Saffron’s ‘Mix Nights’, is a teaching series, working with women to develop DJ skills in an encouraging, safe and welcoming environment. Mentors cover the basics of mixing on vinyl and CDJs (digital), with each course culminating in a group of students playing their first public DJ set. Mix Nights’ DJ mentors include the very best of Bristol’s female DJs; Em Williams (Simple Productions) and Daisy Moon (Housework, BRSTL). Working behind the scenes as Mix Nights Project Manager and fellow DJ, is Lizzy Ellis (Saffron, Red Light Management, Tectonic Records).

Classes are designed for beginners, or those with basic skills who would like further support and guidance. 

As the workshops will be held in English, English speaking-applicants will be prioritised although an interpreter can be available if necessary 

If you would like to participate in a session with Saffron Records, please submit your CV and cover letter (300-500 words) by May 15. In your cover letter, please mention why you would like to be a DJ, list 10 tracks you would pick to play at a Parallel party, and give mention to 3 well-known DJs in the industry. Please note that successful applicants must cover travel and accommodation costs themselves.

About Saffron Records

Comprising a record label, teaching series, masterclasses and an artist development platform, Saffron aims to support Women in music and technology through education, personal growth and community building. Women currently make up just 5% of the music tech industry. This problem is reflected in recording studios, mixing desks, stages and line ups around the world. This creates an intimidating and often hostile environment making it difficult for women to feel like they can engage within these industries. We feel that the short term solution is to create safe, single sex environments for women which encourage confidence, creativity and curiosity. 

Intensive session from Brighter Sound (available to participants selected for Parallel Residence II)

23 – 24 May 2019

11.00 – 18.00

This session from Brighter Sound will focus on songwriting and production skills.

The session will cover key songwriting themes: where to start, how to structure songs and how to bring those ideas to life. Mentors will provide tips on inspiration, production techniques, melodies, harmonies, lyric-writing and how to get the most out of Ableton software.

Poppy Roberts – vocalist, composer and producer who has worked across pop, electronic and urban genres with labels such as Apollo R&S, Fulfill Records and Scissor & Thread. She has written and performed with a number of artists and publishing houses (Durutti Column, Maceo Plex, Indigo...) prior to releasing her debut solo EP later this year.

About Brighter Sound

Brighter Sound is a creative music charity based in Manchester, UK. Rooted in the North of England with both national and international reach, the organisation supports young and emerging musicians  from their early years to their early careers. A driving force for gender equality, Brighter Sound curated ‘Both Sides Now’, a three year programme to support, inspire and showcase women in music. The programme features residencies, commissions, training and apprenticeships, alongside national and international showcases.  Both Sides Now is creating lasting change around the roles, representation and recognition of women in music – from the classroom to the stage.

Parallel Party with FEMME (UK)

Powerhouse

24 May 2019
23.00 – 04.00

Parallel Party is a series of music events providing a platform for local female DJs and musicians to showcase their music.

 

 

This edition of the Parallel Party will feature a DJ set from British producer FEMME, supported by local acts (to be announced).

About FEMME

FEMME has been described as a ‘one-woman powerhouse’ by BBC Radio 1's Annie Mac. FEMME (Laura Bettinson) is the real deal when it comes to unadulterated artistry. As composer, producer, vocalist and DJ, she has eschewed major label interest in order to maintain her musical vision without interference. She has collaborated with the great and the good, including touringthe USA with Charli XCXand featuring on tracks with  Sasha, Justin Martin, Four Tet and David Lynch. FEMME is also vocalist in the band Ultraísta, with Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich.

About Parallel

Parallel is an online magazine and educational platform celebrating women in music in Russia. Their goal is to create an environment based on inspiration, empowermentand support. Through educational programmes and music events, Parallel strive to foster visibility and gender-balance for women in the music industry.

Команда Saffron Records ©

Tom Ham

Совместно с Параллелью объявляем прием заявок на участие в мероприятиях Параллельной резиденции II, программы профессионального развития для женщин, работающих в музыкальной индустрии!

Цель резиденции — создать безопасное творческое пространство для девушек,  в котором они будут развивать идеи, погружаться  в творческий процесс, совместно придумывать и записывать музыкальные композиции от первой ноты музыки до спродюссированной аранжировки. Мы даем доступ к студиям и музыкальным инструментам, проводим несколько воркшопов и знакомим участниц в классными профессионалами из разных сфер музыкальной индустрии. Программа резиденции продлится восемь дней, в течение которых участники делятся на небольшие группы для работы над написанием песен и навыками создания музыки. Участники будут иметь доступ к музыкальному оборудованию и студийному времени. Основная цель — писать музыку в коллаборации в рамках ограниченного времени и учиться друг у друга.

Резиденция пройдет 20-27 мая 2019 года, 15 участников будут отобраны на основе заявок. Для участия необходимо до 13 мая заполнить форму заявки.

Параллельная резиденция II поддерживается Институтом музыкальных инициатив и Moscow Music School.

Британская программа резиденции

FEMME

Интенсив от Saffron Records: основы диджеинга (ПРИЕМ ЗАЯВОК ДО 15 МАЯ)

Интенсив пройдет в баре Powerhouse 20-21 мая с 11:00 до 18:00.

Занятия рассчитаны на начинающих, или на тех, кто имеет базовые навыки, но хочет получить поддержку и развить уверенность в себе. Мероприятие будет проходить на английском языке — во время занятия будет доступен перевод на русский язык, но знание английского языка приветствуется.

Для участия в семинаре необходимо отправить резюме и мотивационное письмо (300-500 слов) на cultural.section.moscow@gmail.com до 15 мая. В мотивационном письме:

  • укажите, почему вы хотите стать диджеем;
  • перечислите десять треков, которые стоит поставить на вечеринке "Параллели";
  • назовите трех известных диджеев в индустрии

Семинар «Женщины в музыке» был разработан специально для Москвы. Менторы Saffron Mix Nights познакомят участников с основами диджеинга в формате веселого и неформального семинара, обучат техническим навыкам диджея и поделятся знаниями и опытом по более тонким профессиональным вопросам, таким как поиск «своего» звука и создание сета.

Инициатива Saffron Mix Nights — это девятинедельный курс, где преподаватели-диджеи-женщины преподают другим женщинам основы микширования на виниле или CDJ (цифровые сеты). Завершением каждого курса является публичное выступление студентов, играющих свой первый диджейский сет. 

Успешные соискатели будут обеспечены всеми необходимыми материалами для работы. Расходы на проезд и проживание должны быть покрыты самими участниками.

DJ-менторы Mix Nights включают в себя самых лучших женщин-диджеев Бристоля: Эм Уильямс (Simple Productions) и Дейзи Мун (Housework, BRSTL). За кулисами — менеджер проекта Mix nights и диджей Лиззи Эллис (Saffron, Red Light Management, Tectonic Records).

О Saffron Records

В настоящее время женщины занимают всего 5% индустрии музыкальных технологий. Проблема отсутствия гендерного равенства существует в студиях звукозаписи, за пультами звукорежиссеров, на сценах и в лайнапах по всему мира, что создает пугающую и зачастую враждебную среду, мешающую женщинам строить карьеру в музыкальной индустрии. Мы считаем, что краткосрочное решение состоит в создании безопасной среды только для женщин, что поспособствует развитию уверенности, творчеству и любопытству. Компания Saffron, включающая в себя звукозаписывающий лейбл, обучающую программу, мастер-классы и платформу для развития артистов, стремится поддерживать женщин в музыке и музыкальных технологиях через образование, личностный рост и создание сообщества.

Интенсив от Brighter Sound (только для участниц резиденции)

Интенсив пройдет 23-24 мая с 11:00 до 18:00.

Тема интенсива: написание песен и музыкальное производство.

Ключевые элементы запуска, структурирования и воплощения ваших идей; советы по вдохновению, технологиям производства, мелодиям, гармониям и написанию текстов с использованием программного обеспечения Ableton.

Интенсив проведёт Poppy Roberts — вокалист, композитор и продюсер, работавший в жанрах поп, электроника и urban с такими лейблами, как Apollo R&S, Fulfill Records и Scissor & Thread. Писала музыку и выступала с множеством артистов и лейблов (Durutti Column, Maceo Plex, Indigo...), в этом году выпустила свой дебютный сольный альбом.

О Brighter Sound

Brighter Sound — творческая музыкальная благотворительная организация из Манчестера (Великобритания). Получив известность на севере Англии, а также национальное и международное признание, они поддерживают молодых и начинающих музыкантов — от первых шагов до начала карьеры. Both Sides Now — трехлетняя инициатива Brighter Sound по поддержке, вдохновлению и продвижению женщин-музыкантов и профессионалов отрасли. Посредством увлекательной программы творческих резиденций, художественных проектов, образовательных программ и мероприятий, Both Sides Now создает долгосрочные изменения в роли, репрезентации и признании женщин в музыке: от классной комнаты до зала заседаний и сцены.

Вечеринка Parallel с FEMME (UK)

Вечеринка пройдет в баре Powerhouse 24 мая с 23.00 до 04.00.

Parallel Party —  серия музыкальных мероприятий, предоставляющая возможноcть местным женщинам — диджеям и музыкантам — познакомить публику со своей музыкой.

На этой вечеринке Parallel Party прозвучит сет от британского продюсера и диджея DJ FEMME при поддержке московских диджеев.

О FEMME

FEMME (Лора Беттинсон) — настоящая находка для тех, кому интересен неподдельный артистизм. Энни Мак, ведущая BBC Radio 1, назвала ее «женщиной-генератором». Композитор, продюсер, вокалист и диджей, FEMME отказалась от предложений крупных лейблов ради сохранения собственного музыкального видения. Этот бескомпромиссный подход не помешал ей работать с великими: FEMME гастролировала по США с Charli XCX, участвовала в треках Sasha, Джастина Мартина, Four Tet и Дэвида Линча. FEMME также тесно сотрудничает и выступает в роли вокалистки в группе Ultraísta с продюсером Radiohead Найджелом Годричем.

Музыка FEMME звучит в популярных телевизионных шоу Netflix, Made in Chelsea, Boohoo, Coors Light. Совсем недавно FEMME создала саундтрек для рекламы Adidas Originals China и музыку для видеоигры Pro-Evolution Soccer 2019

О Параллели

Параллель — онлайн журнал и образовательная платформа, которая рассказывает о героях музыкальной индустрии России, прежде всего девушках — музыкантах, исполнителях, менеджерах, промоутерах, и ставит перед собой цель создать среду, основанную на вдохновении, взаимоподдержке и ремесле. Посредством образовательных программ и музыкальных событий Parallel стремится повысить репрезентацию женщин в музыкальной индустрии и создать инклюзивное сообщество.