Glyn Maxwell

Glyn Maxwell is a poet, playwright, critic and librettist. He studied English at Oxford, and Poetry and Theatre with Derek Walcott at Boston University. His books of poetry include Pluto, The Nerve and The Sugar Mile. All of his collections have been shortlisted for the major UK poetry prizes, and in 2014 he received the Cholmondeley Award from the Society of Authors. He has published many translations of Joseph Brodsky. Though not a Russophone, Maxwell works from literal translations, advice from Brodsky’s contemporaries, memories of his conversation, and the abiding love of W. H. Auden shared by the two poets.

Time’s Fool, his 1999 verse-novel based on the legend of the Flying Dutchman, is in production as a feature film with Fox Searchlight. He co-wrote the screenplay for Clara Van Gool’s 2019 dance-film The Beast In the Jungle. Many of his plays have been performed in London, including Liberty at Shakespeare’s Globe, Cyrano De Bergerac at Southwark Playhouse, and The Only Girl in the World at the Arcola. He has written several adaptations for the Grosvenor Park Open-Air Theatre in Chester, including Alice In Wonderland, The Beggar’s Opera and Wind In the Willows, which was shortlisted at the UK Theatre Awards in 2016. In New York he has staged Wolfpit, Broken Journey, The Gambler and Agamemnon Home. Many of his plays have been broadcast on BBC Radio.

He has composed libretti for several operas staged at the Royal Opera House and Glyndebourne, including The Lion’s Face (for the Russian composer Elena Langer), Nothing, and The Firework Maker’s Daughter (for David Bruce), which was nominated for an Olivier Award in 2015. In 2012 Maxwell published the critical guidebook On Poetry, then in 2016 its fictional sequel Drinks With Dead Poets. He lives in Islington, London and teaches at The Poetry School.

External links

Glyn Maxwell

Глин Максвелл – поэт, драматург, критик и либреттист. Изучал английскую филологию в Оксфорде, поэзю и театр в Бостонском университете в классе Дерека Уолкотта. Автор стихотворных сборников «Pluto», «The Nerve», «The Sugar Mile», каждый из которых был отмечен престижными литературными наградами. В 2014 году Максвелл получил премию Cholmondeley. Переводил стихи и прозу Иосифа Бродского, причём, не владея русским языком, ориентировался на английский подстрочник, комментарии современников Бродского, опубликованные воспоминания о нём, а также на поэзию У. Х. Одена, повлиявшую на обоих авторов. 

В 1999 году Максвелл написал роман в стихах «Time’s Fool», сюжет котрого основан на легенде о Летучем Голландце. В настоящее время по мотивам романа снимается художественный фильм.  Написал сценарий к фильму Клары Ван Гоол «Зверь в чаще» (2019). Пьесы Глина Максвелла были представлены в ведущих театрах Лондона: «Liberty» – в театре «Глобус», «Сирано де Берджерак» (авторская интерпретация) – в Southbank Playhouse, «The Only Girl in the World» – в Arcola. Для открытого театра Grosvenor Park в Честере написал сценические адаптации таких произведений, как «Алиса в стране чудес», «Ветер в ивах» (короткий список премии UK Theatre Awards 2016 года), «Опера нищего». В Нью-Йорке были представлены его пьесы «Wolfpit», «Broken Journey», «Игрок» (по мотивам романа Ф.М. Достоевского) и «Agamemnon home». По пьесам Максвелла были поставлены многочисленные аудиоспектакли, которые транслировались на радио Би-би-си.

Автор либретто к операм «The Lion’s Face» (композитор – Елена Лангер), «Nothing» и «The Firework Maker’s Daughter» (композитор – Дэвид Брюс), исполнявшимся в Королевском оперном театре и в театре «Глайндборн». Номинант премии им. Лоуренса Оливье 2015 года.

В 2012 году Глин Максвелл опубликовал сборник критических статей «On Poetry», а в 2016 году – его художественное продолжение, книгу «Drinks With Dead Poets». Живёт в Лондоне, в районе Ислингтон, преподает в Школе поэзии.

External links