©

Photo: Denis Denisov for Present Perfect Festival

As Garage continues to carry out events for professional communities aiming at an ongoing collaboration with people with disabilities, the Museum announces a one-day immersion workshop delivered by Gideon Feldman, the Head of Programs at Attitude is Everything, Britain’s leading charity organization providing access for people with disabilities to music concerts and other cultural events. The workshop will take place on September 28 from 11 am until 6 pm.

Attitude is Everything are internationally recognized as experts in live music and outdoor event accessibility, having worked directly with over 200 venues and festivals across the UK via their Charter of Best Practice program and delivered access consultancy for major venues and events including Glastonbury Festival.

The workshop will cover:

  • an introduction to the work and ethos of Attitude is Everything;
  • group discussion on the barriers attendees and organizers of cultural events can face;
  • Attitude is Everything’s Access Starts Online resource, and why quality online access
  • information is an essential component of live event accessibility; 
  • the Charter of Best Practice program for venues and festivals, and examples of cutting-edge practice from the UK.

Goals and expected outcomes:

  • analyzing the work of concert and festival venues in the UK using concrete examples, and how similar principles can be transferred to other countries;
  • establishing a working communication with audiences with disabilities and implementing the acquired knowledge in the future;
  • developing draft accessibility action plans inspired by the Charter to take away for your own events;
  • sharing ideas and what you are doing to make your events accessible for deaf and disabled audiences.

Workshop host

Gideon Feldman is the Head of Programs at Attitude is Everything, a charity supporting the music and events industries to be inclusive and accessible for deaf and disabled customers, performers and employees. With a background in Production and Tour Management for disability arts companies including Graeae and CandoCo and experience of working with large-scale festivals and multi-sport events, he has an understanding of what can be achieved and how to influence change from an event-specific point of view. Since 2011, Gideon has been working for Attitude is Everything, leading the delivery of the Charter of Best Practice and developing the charities consultancy work. The Charter is now firmly established within the live music industry as a tool to examine all aspects of making a venue or festival accessible and inclusive. Over 190 venues and festivals across the UK have now been signed up to the Charter. Consultancy work has been undertaken with a wide variety of clients including Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society, Norske festivaler and Norske konsertarrangører, Festival Republic, The BBC, Colston Hall, HM Government of Gibraltar, Glastonbury, and Sound Connections among others.

Application:

This workshop is aimed at producers of music, theater and urban festivals, curators working for music venues and concerts halls, museum workers interested in various issues dealing with the promotion of inclusion, and event managers and producers who wish to broaden their audiences and organize an event.

The workshop is free.

Selection will be based on the application submitted. The deadline is September 10, 6 pm (Moscow time) 

Results will be announced on September 22, 2019.

The workshop’s main block and practical sessions will run in English. If necessary, Garage will provide interpreters to Russian and Russian Sign Language. 

External links

Музей «Гараж» продолжает организовывать мероприятия для профессионального сообщества, цель которых развить взаимодействие с людьми с инвалидностью. В этот раз Музей приглашает принять участие в интенсивном однодневном семинаре с Гидеоном Фельдманом, программным директором одной из ведущих британских благотворительных организаций в области доступности — Attitude is Everything, работающей с музыкальными концертами и другими культурными мероприятиями. 

Attitude is Everything — эксперты международного уровня в сфере обеспечения доступности при организации живых музыкальных и других культурных мероприятий, работающие напрямую с более чем 200 площадками и фестивалями в Великобритании по созданной ими программе Charter of Best Practice, а также консультирующие по вопросам доступности крупнейшие площадки и мероприятия, среди которых Гластонберийский фестиваль.

Семинар пройдет 28 сентября с 11:00 до 18:00  в Образовательном центре Музея «Гараж»

Темы семинара:

  • знакомство с деятельностью и этикой Attitude is Everything;
  • обсуждение проблем с доступностью, возникающих при организации культурных мероприятий;
  • онлайн-ресурс Access Starts Online: почему доступ к качественным информационным онлайн-ресурсам — важнейший этап на пути к доступности живых мероприятий;
  • программа Charter Best Practice, разработанная для концертных площадок и фестивалей, анализ актуальных примеров из британской практики.

Цели и ожидаемые результаты:

  • на конкретных примерах изучить, как работают концертные и фестивальные площадки Великобритании и как те же принципы можно использовать в других странах;
  • наладить эффективную коммуникацию с людьми с инвалидностью и в дальнейшем применять полученные знания на практике;
  • создать рабочие планы обеспечения доступности собственных мероприятий по мотивам проектов Charter Best Practice;
  • обменяться опытом и идеями о том, как сделать различные мероприятия доступными людям с инвалидностью.

Ведущий семинара

Гидеон Фельдман — программный директор благотворительной организации Attitude is Everything, занимающейся обеспечением доступности мероприятий в области музыкальной и ивент-индустрии для посетителей, исполнителей и сотрудников с глухотой и другими особенностями. Получив обширный опыт продакшена и тур-менеджмента в области искусства и инвалидности (в таких компаниях, как Graeae и Candoco, а также на крупнейших фестивалях и спортивных событиях), Фельдман обладает четким видением, как можно работать с доступностью на больших мероприятиях с учетом их специфики. С 2011 года работает в Attitude is Everything, возглавляя программу Charter Best Practice и разрабатывая консультационное направление компании. На сегодняшний день Charter Best Practice прочно закрепилась на территории музыкальной индустрии как инструмент, позволяющий сделать площадку или фестиваль инклюзивным и доступным во всех аспектах. Этой программой сегодня пользуются более 190 площадок и фестивалей по всей Британии. За консультациями Attitude is Everything обращаются самые разнообразные клиенты, в том числе Общество эдинбургского фестиваля Fringe, Норвежский кинофестиваль, фестиваль Republic, Колстон-Холл, Правительство Гибралтара, музакальный фестиваль «Гластонбери»,  Sound Connections и другие. 

Заявка на участие:

К участию в семинаре приглашаются продюсеры музыкальных, театральных и городских фестивалей, кураторы музыкальных площадок и концертных залов, музейные сотрудники, интересующиеся вопросами развития инклюзии, а также ивент-менеджеры, которые хотят расширить свою аудиторию.

Участие в семинаре бесплатное. 

Отбор участников проводится на основе заявок. Дедлайн приема заявок - 22 сентября, 18:00. 

Результаты отбора будут объявлены 24 сентября.

Основная часть семинара и практическая работа будет проходить на английском языке. В случае необходимости Музей обеспечит переводчика на русский и русский жестовый языки.

External links