Date
Tuesday, July 16, 2019 - 18:00

For one evening we invite you to the UK for inspiring conversations about poetry, music, creative pathways and identity with authors who represent some of the diversity of British literature today. 

The Cultural and Education Section of the British Embassy in Moscow, in partnership with the Library for Foreign Literature named after M.I. Rudomino, is organising an evening of conversations with contemporary UK authors. 

The evening is part of the festival Summer in Inostranka: Season 2 – Contemporary  Culture and the UK authors are coming to Russia for the British Literature Today seminar at Yasnaya Polyana which is part of the UK-Russia Year of Music 2019.

Entry is free, but registration is required. The event will take place in English and in Russian with simultaneous interpretation.

Event Schedule 

18:00 – 19:00  – What music owes to women – from Hildegard of Bingen to nowadays?

Fiona Maddocks in conversation with Nina Nazarova.

Why there are so few women among the medieval composers? Does it make sense? Do a saint songwriter of 12 century and Beyoncé have anything in common? Fiona Maddocks, the leading classical music observer, founder of the BBC Music Magazine and author of Music for Life will talk about that with Nina Nazarova.

Nina Nazarova is a journalist who currently works for the BBC. She is a former editor of Afisha magazine and former editor-in-chief of Gorky online media.

Registration 

19:15 – 20:15 – Words and music by David Keenan: how an underground rocker became a well-known writer

David Keenan in conversation with Denis Boyarinov.

David Keenan has come a long way from being a musician with the band 18 Wheeler, which used to be the supporting act at Oasis concerts, to a leading critic for The Wire and chronicler of defining moments in the UK underground scene such as Coil, Current 93 and Nurse With Wound. After he stopped performing, he has progressively moved from non-fiction to fiction. His latest novel For the Good Times is set in 1970s Belfast. David will share his thoughts on the creative process from both a musician’s and a writer’s perspective, and on the current musical scenes, both mainstream and underground, in the UK.

Registration

20:30 – 21:30 – Not only verses: new formats of poetry

Jay Bernard, Lavinia Greenlaw  and  Glyn Maxwell in conversation with Denis Beznosov.

Contemporary poetry is a field for experiment, where the word is united with music and the sounds of the surrounding world or becomes part of a picture, installation or performance. How does poetry live today – on the page or separately? What makes poetry? Where does poetry begin and end as an art form? These questions will be discussed by four poets whose work is so different from each other that for them to appear together on the same platform suggests that poetry has no limits.

Registration

Date
вторник 16 июля 2019 -
18:0021:30

Мы приглашаем вас перенестить на один вечер в Великобританию и поучаствовать в увлекательной беседе о поэзии, музыке, творческом пути, самоопределении и месте писателя в мире – с теми, кто находится в самой гуще литературного процесса и создаёт тексты, которые формируют современную британскую литературу. 

Отдел культуры и образования Посольства Великобритании в Москве совместно с Библиотекой иностранной литературы им. М.И. Рудомино приглашают вас на вечер встреч с британскими писателями. 

Встречи пройдут в рамках фестиваля «Лето в Иностранке. Сезон 2 – aктуальная культура» и приурочены к визиту авторов в Россию для участия в семинаре «Британская литература сегодня», который входит в программу Года музыки Великобритании и России 2019. 

Вход бесплатный по регистрации, все встречи проводятся на английском и русском языках с синхронным переводом.

Программа

18:00 – 19:00  – Чем музыка обязана женщинам – от Святой Хильдегарды до наших дней?

Беседа Фионы Мэддокс и Нины Назаровой.

Почему среди классических композиторов не так много женщин? Это вообще важно? И есть ли что-то общее у святой, сочинявшей церковные распевы в XII веке, и Бейонсе? Обо всем этом расскажет Фиона Мэддокс, ведущий музыкальный критик Великобритании, основательница «BBC Music Magazine» и автор сборника эссе «Music for Life».

Регистрация 

19:15 – 20:15 – Слова и музыка Дэвида Кинана: как андеграундный рокер стал известным писателем?

Беседа Дэвида Кинана и Дениса Бояринова

Дэвид Кинан прошёл путь от музыканта в группе «18 Wheeler», выступавшей, в числе прочего, на разогреве у «Oasis», до ведущего музыкального критика в культовом издании «The Wire» и летописца основных вех британского подполья, таких, как «Coil», «Current 93» и «Nurse With Wound». От музыкального нон-фикшна Дэвид постепенно ушёл в сторону художественной литературы и с тех пор написал несколько романов, последний из которых посвящён событиям гражданской войны в Северной Ирландии. Различается ли философия творчества у музыканта и у писателя? Как выглядит современная британская литература извне? И что происходит сегодня в британском музыкальном мейнстриме и андеграунде?

Регистрация

20:30 – 21:30 – Не просто стихи, или новые форматы поэзии

Беседа Джей Бернард, Лавинии Гринлоу, Глина Максвелла и Дениса Безносова

Современная поэзия – это поле для экспериментов, где слово соединятеся с музыкой, звуками окружающего мира, становится частью картины, инсталляции или перформанса. Как сегодня живут стихи – на страницах сборника и в отрыве от него? Что становится стихами? Гда начинается и где заканчивается поэзия как художественная форма? Об этом и о многом другом будут говорить четыре поэта, творчество которых настолько различно – и по содержанию, и по способу подачи, и по восприятию, что само их появление  на одной сцене намекает: границ не существует.

Регистрация