Saturday, September 14, 2019 - 19:00

The annual International Young Composers Academy in Tchaikovsky city (the Perm region) organized by MCME is a unique project for the Russian music culture as well as the biggest large-scale international young composers’ workshop in our country. 

During the two-weeks workshop, the young composers write new pieces which are rehearsed and performed by the leading Russian ensemble, the Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble (MCME) at the final concerts in Tchaikovsky, Perm and in Moscow.

Solitude and peace, remoteness from the noise and hustle of big cities, the picturesque nature foster fruitful creative concentration. Tchaikovsky is the only city in the world named after the composer, and it seems to be the perfect cradle for music creativity.

Over the years, the Academy has invited leading world composers, including Beat Furrer, Oscar Bianchi (Switzerland), Pierluigi Billone, Francesco Filidei (Italy), Marc Andre, Franc Bedrossian, Jean-Luc Herve, Philippe Leroux, Raphael Sendo, Fabien Levy, Jerome Combier (France), Klaus Lang, Peter Ablinger (Austria), Carola Bauckholt (Germany), Yannis Kyriakides (Netherlands), Chaya Czernowin (Israel / USA), etc.

Today the Academy is on par with the leading composer courses in the world. The number of applications for the Academy grows annually. The Ninth International Academy of Young Composers (August-September 2019) received 131 applications from 39 countries of the world. 11 students, 4 trainees and 7 fellows from 12 countries were selected for classes by the world-leading composers-professors, namely: Bryn Harrison (Great Britain), Jan Maresh (France), Martin Schüttler (Germany) and Deqing Wen (China).

More details available on the Academy website. 


Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble (MCME)

  • Ivan Bushuev (flute)
  • Oleg Tantsov (сlarinet)
  • Mikhail Dubov (piano)
  • Evgeny Subbotin (violin)
  • Ilya Rubinstein (cello)
  • Yulia Migunova (cello)

Ulrike Brand (cello, Germany)

The programme features works by the Academy professors:

  • Bryn Harrison (UK)

Rise for clarinet, piano, violin and cello

  • Martin Schüttler (Germany)

low poly rose for clarinet, piano and cello

  • Bernard Cavanna (France)

Fauve for violin solo

  • Deqing Wen (China)

The trill of Steppe for violin, cello and piano

Premiers of works by the Academy students:

  • Ivan Bushuev (Russia)
  • Damian Gorandi (Argentina)
  • Polina Korobkova (Russia)
  • Dmitry Mazurov (Russia)
  • Lise Morrison (Republic of South Africa)
  • Daniil Pilchen (Russia)
  • Ruud Roelofsen (Netherlands)
  • Colin Frank (Canada)
  • Yiqing Zhu (China)
  • Marin Escande (France)


  • Independent Non-Commercial Organization Centre for New Music Initiatives
  • Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble
  • Municipal Autonomous Cultural Institution Tchaikovsky Regional Culture Development Centre