©

Dmitri Shostakovich (left) and Benjamin Britten in 1966. Photograph: Ria Novosti

The Britten-Shostakovich Festival Orchestra is a unique bi-national ensemble bringing together young people of conservatoire age in a shared cultural experience.

The formation of the Britten-Shostakovich Festival Orchestra marks the UK-Russia Year of Music 2019, a bilateral initiative between the United Kingdom and Russia. The orchestra is expected to flourish as a regular annual feature in the musical calendars of both countries. Its ambition is to maintain a dynamic cultural collaboration bringing together young musicians from the United Kingdom and Russia each year to work intensively and present a series of concerts on tour.

Applications for the orchestra came from many of the most talented orchestral musicians studying or just starting their careers across the United Kingdom and Russia. They were auditioned between March and May this year, and all are graduates of or students at leading conservatoires and music colleges in Moscow, St Petersburg, Rostov, London, Manchester, Birmingham, Oxford, Glasgow and Cardiff.

The orchestra is made up of similar numbers of British and Russian musicians, providing them with an invaluable musical and cultural experience that will leave a lasting impression at a key stage in their development. The public concerts in the United Kingdom and Russia will be the first time that most of these musicians will have experienced such international musical collaboration.

The inaugural season starts with a week in residence at the Sirius Park of Science and Art in Sochi, Russia, where the orchestra will rehearse and be coached by a professional faculty drawn from major orchestras and opera houses. It will then embark on its first tour, giving five concerts in Russia and seven across the United Kingdom, performing in several of the world’s most prestigious concert halls.

Jan Latham-Koenig, the British Artistic Director of the Kolobov Novaya Opera in Moscow, will conduct the orchestra. He is the only British conductor to occupy such a senior titled position with one of Russia’s leading musical institutions.  

For more information please visit the Britten-Shostakovich Festival Orchestra website

External links

©

Дмитрий Шостакович (слева) и Бенджамин Бриттен в 1966 году. РИА Новости

Фестивальный оркестр Бриттена-Шостаковича – это уникальный двунациональный коллектив, объединяющий молодых музыкантов, студентов из консерваторий России и Соединенного Королевства для участия в совместном творческом проекте.

Создание Фестивального оркестра Бриттена-Шостаковича приурочено к проведению Года музыки России и Великобритании 2019. Ожидается, что деятельность оркестра будет развиваться и выступления оркестра станут ежегодным событием в музыкальном календаре обеих стран. Цель создания этого оркестра – поддержка динамично развивающегося  культурного сотрудничества, в котором молодые музыканты из России и Великобритании получают возможность ежегодно объединяться для интенсивной творческой работы и серии гастрольных концертов.

Заявки на участие в оркестре приходили от талантливейших студентов и молодых профессиональных музыкантов  со всей России и Великобритании. Прослушивания проходили с марта по начало мая этого года, все отобранные музыканты – выпускники или студенты ведущих консерваторий и музыкальных учреждений Москвы, Санкт-Петербурга, Ростова-на-Дону, Лондона, Манчестера, Бирмингема, Глазго и Кардиффа.

Оркестр состоит из равного числа британских и российских музыкантов, у которых будет возможность получить бесценный профессиональный опыт, значимый  на данном этапе их карьеры. Концерты в России и Великобритании станут для большинства музыкантов первым опытом подобного международного музыкального сотрудничества.

Работа в коллективе начнется с недельной резиденции в Парке науки и искусства «Сириус» в Сочи, где молодые оркестранты будут репетировать под наставничеством профессиональных музыкантов известных оркестров и оперных театров. Затем последуют гастроли, состоящие из пяти концертов в России и семи в Великобритании, где они смогут выступить в самых престижных концертных залах.

Британский дирижер Ян Латам-Кёниг, художественный руководитель Новой Оперы имени Е.В. Колобова в Москве, возглавит это уникальный коллектив. Маэстро Латам-Кёниг - единственный британский дирижер, стоящий во главе одного из ведущих российских  оперных театров.

Подробная информация доступна на официальном сайте оркестра. 

External links